Posted by: aauntiem | May 28, 2010

Open Roast Beef and Happy Friday

Don’t look now or tell anyone, but I am in an excellent mood. I had an awesome, probably not gonna go anywhere but nice that I got asked interview, the Magic are not an utter embarrassment and could (could, maybe?) make history, plus I have fun family stuff and a long weekend.

Fridays, they are a magical. They are so good I almost forgot that my nose is so filled with sickness that I can’t smell anything. Almost.

Ok, so for today I thought I would share with you one of Picasso’s all time favorite things. It is so easy and uses such cheap-fast-not homemade food that you can whip this guy up in minutes.  This is one of those recipes, so healthy people stay back behind that line. It might be infectious.

When Picasso and I went with my brother in law and his then girlfriend to NY a couple of Christmases ago we happened into Stage. There, Picasso fell in love with number *26* the Ben Stiller Hot Open Roast Beef Sandwich. Someone’s photo bucket reminded me that it looks like this:

Knowing that Picasso eats three things and seeing that all three things are in one place goes a long way in explaining his love for that deli. It goes a long way in explaining why I needed to find  out how to replicate this big city sandwich at home.

Tada:

Lightened-up Hot Open Roast Beef Sammy, serves 2

5 weight watchers points

12 slice(s) Oscar Mayer Cured roast beef (or some other low fat, thick sliced beef)
4 slice(s) Weight Watchers 100% Whole Wheat Bread (or other bread that allows 2 slices per point)
PAM

Italian seasoning, to taste
1 clove(s) garlic clove(s), chopped
1 Tbsp McCormick Brown gravy dry seasoning mix, make according to directions, entire packet

1 cup(s) mashed potatoes, non-fat milk and margarine; make two servings

Worcestershire sauce, optional

Make instant mashed and instant gravy according to directions (I apologize, this how Picasso rolls…you do the right thing here and make them from scratch. I will be…well I’ll be done.)

Also, heat up a can of peas.

Very debonair and sophisticated meal here people.

When the potatoes and gravy are ready, heat medium sized skillet and spray with non-fat cooking spray. Add roast beef slices, salt and pepper to taste. Throw in some Worcestershire sauce if you feel like it. Brown both sides, about three minutes. Set aside.

In another skillet, on medium heat, add fat free spray. Spray non-fat spray butter on each bread slice. Add garlic and Italian seasoning to taste. Toast both sides of bread, about 30 seconds a side.

Serving: Place two slices of toasted garlic bread on plate. Add 1/2 cup of mashed potatoes on top of bread. Add 1/2 cup of green peas. Add six slices of roast beef. Add one serving of gravy (about 2 tbsp). Serve with 13 baked fries, adding a total of three points and bringing the meal to 8 points.

Now, that is a man-which if I ever saw one.

Happy Memorial Day weekend!

AuntieM


Responses

  1. With the exception of the peas, that looks delicious. I might have to steal the recipe.

  2. made this for the fam for dinner tonight and it was delish! will most definitely make it again.

    • I am glad you liked it. It is so easy!


Leave a comment

Categories