Posted by: aauntiem | May 27, 2010

Cocktails and a Winner!

First, congrats to Linda who has won the Sintral Florida Derby Tote Bag and a thanks to all of you that entered. Once Jay chooses her name I will post it here.  And, on to the cocktails…

In honor of SJP and the premier of Sex and the City 2, I am making Sassy Shrimp Cocktails.

Now, in case my Ree posts weren’t effective PSAs, I need to explain some things for you:

  1. I am girl version of a trékee.  Trek·kie [ trékee ] (plural Trek·kies). Noun. Meaning: a) fan, reminiscent of thirteen year old girls at a New Kids on the Block concert; b) obsessive tendencies for a variety of books, movies, designers, and tv shows.  Often associated with Sex in the City, Twilight, Harry Potter; c) stands in line to attend the opening, signings, and showing of all things associated with these obsessions (ie: crazy).
  2. Picasso should be sainted for his sheer willingness to stand, entertain, photograph and admire photographs of girl trekee events (really, he does it for the treats.)

Now, I admit that these events throughout my life have often been started by others. Harry Potter openings for both the books and the movies became a ritual via my brother who was a child when the first book came out. Sex in the City, PW, and Twilight came from Jay initially. Roswell, that folks, I did all on my own.

And, something else you should know:

Once I am in, I am hooked. The first in the series is like a gateway drug. I actually clap and do victory dances when I read books. No kidding. When Harry first fought you-know-who in the graveyard in book four I almost missed a college Asian Humanities final exam because I was literally jumping and screaming my way through the chapter in my parent’s living room. Just last year, I stayed up, literally, for four days with minor naps between teaching classes to read all the Twilight series.

It is a sickness that may bring me to therapy.

I may never recover.

Thank god I don’t have a tendency toward alcohol (just brownies).

So, it is no wonder that when it was time for the next Sex and the City movie, Jay would be buying the tickets and I would be beside her in line.

In honor of said movie I made Sassy Shrimp Cocktails and she practiced getting to know the digital SLR.

Sassy Shrimp Cocktail    serves 5 (5 shrimp and 1 tbsp sauce)

2 weight watcher points

You are gonna need my regulars:

2 tsp. Paprika

½ tsp. Chili Powder

1 Lemon

1 Lime

1 tsp Olive Oil

Salt, to taste

¼ tsp Garlic Powder

¼ tsp Onion Powder

And, then:

¾ lb. of raw peeled and de-veined shrimp

1 tsp brown sugar

½ cup ketchup

Horseradish, to taste

Wooden or metal skewers

Ok, now this is really hard. So watch very closely as I go through all these steps (ok, like three).

Soak the skewers in water for about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, put the shrimp, OO, paprika, chili powder, dash of salt, garlic powder, onion powder and brown sugar in a bowl:

I just dashed in the chili powder. I am a rebel that way.

Toss.

FYI: Don’t judge this recipe because of this photo. Raw Shrimp just looks gross. More grosser (what?) than other meats. The end.

Then, in a small bowl combine the ketchup with the juice of one lime, one lemon, and a dollop of horseradish (about 1 tbsp to start).

Now, mine is extreme hot or super hot or something. But, they make mild.

Don’t be nervous. Just add some and then taste. Wash spoon and repeat. I added two of these guys:

Then, add in some cilantro (you be quiet, I swear it is on my grocery list).

Now, yours skewers should be all soaky.

Stick the pointy end of your skewer through the head-end then through the tail end.

Thread about five shrimp per skewer. Give um breathing room to get crispy like. Ignore all the dishes in my sink.

Turn on your grill to medium/medium high.

Sizzle-sizzle shrimp shrimp on the grill. Grill for about 5 minutes or until the shrimp change from grey to opaque with a pink tinge.

Important: do not over-cook. I have said it before and I’ll say it again, over cooked shrimp tastes like rubber. Save the shrimp!

Serve with your cocktail sauce and settle in to fall in love with Carrie and the girls again.

If you can steal a shrimp from Jay.

AuntieM

Responses

  1. Oh, sister, I’m such a Sex and the City Fangirl (and a few of those others you mentioned), and am fortunate that the husband loves it as much as I do. Sadly, other plans will keep me from the theatre this weekend. *grumpgrump*

    Glad to know it’s not just me.

    • Just wait. The story really picks up after the first half. I love them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

