Posted by: aauntiem | June 16, 2010

Bruschetta with Summer Tomatoes

During the summer before I graduated with my M.A. I lived at my parent’s house and gardened up a storm. Because, folks, the comp exam turned me into a mad hat-er.

My mother, out of school, spent her days as she always does in the summer: reading, swimming, catching up on TiVo, and entertaining her children at the kitchen table (that were like 20).

Even though that was a stressful time, looking back, that summer was also kind of amazing. That was the summer my daring manly-man football coaching father cried, ran through the house, and turned blue because I grew the hottest jalapeno ever created. He still refuses to eat them and twitches a bit when he sees a fresh jalapeno. I am pretty sure I could chase him around the house with one.

Then, my sister was still home and we spent afternoons in the kitchen figuring out things to do with all those fresh vegetables from the garden.

That summer, my mother created three of my favorite things (ever): fried green tomatoes, a cucumber dip that I will share with you later this week, and bruschetta.

Now, folks, my favorite kind of bruschetta is served warm. I have provided you with the topping recipe and the directions for how to prepare but the toasty-bready-goodness is up to you.

Really, the bread depends on what is available in your area. The picture of the recipe shows melba toast, because I was being lazy and just wanted some without going to the store. However, in the gourmet bread section (usually by the crackers or possibly by the deli) there are always a few mini-toast bread loaves or you could use a frozen loaf of some kind (pre-cook).

I like mine to serve more than one pieces of toast and to be 2 pts or less (making the recipe a total of three points). Read the nutrition label and find a flavor you would like and then calculate the points.

The sauce is made to serve 10 so divide accordingly (should give a good amount of topping). I like to make sure my toast is small (bur substantial enough) that I get to eat three pieces of topped toast per serving.

I like bulk people. I like to feel like I am eating something more substantial than a wafer. Obviously, food and I have a relationship (think gollum petting the ring here and singing “my precious”). Unhealthy but true.

Do I get points for at least going gollum on a fresh veggie inspired dish?

No?

You didn’t have to shake your head like that. You could have just said no.

Not even one point?

Fine.

On with the recipe.

Bruschetta Topping  Serves 10

1 weight Watcher Point

3 medium tomato(es) (Please, please use some from a little garden or farmers market. it matters…I swear)

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 clove(s) garlic clove(s), pressed

1 cup(s) Dole Green Onions or clinatro

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 cup(s) reduced fat Parmesan cheese, shredded

1 tsp. sea salt

fresh basil (optional)

Dice your tomatoes. Chop up some green onion. Slice and dice basil. Add the onion, tomato, olive oil, salt, balsamic vinegar, basil, pressed garlic, to a small bowl. Stir.

Refrigerate for about 20 minutes and let it get all meldy.

Preheat your oven to 375. Line a baking pan with toast, top with tomato mixture, and sprinkle with freshly shredded mozzarella.

Bake for about 10 minutes or until the tomato topping is slightly browned and the cheese is melted on the top.

FYI: this is not the entire recipe. My pan served 2 of the 10 and this plate serves 1.

Enjoy!

AuntieM

Responses

  1. I agree totally about the fact that REAL tomatoes make the difference. We are getting our first taste of summer tomatoes – man, I can’t wait for the caprese salad! My basil is ready too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

