Posted by: aauntiem | June 15, 2010

One Fish, Two Rish, Red Fish Recipe

I am a Florida girl through and through. I actually enjoy the heat of a car that has sat warming all day. I relish the warm brick that hits the body as you exit from the air conditioning into the hot summer sun.

There is a smell to summer, a certain way that the light washes everything out making the whole world vintage, dusty, and beautiful.

Summer is the time for cookout and toes… for 8:00 o’clock sunsets that light the sky on fire in pink, salmon, and blue.

Summer is also the time for the water– my love and my home.

Picasso, though he is far more rational and doesn’t take satisfaction in the extravagant heat, also loves summer. He hates the water but he loves to fish and boat. And, already he has been  out several times. In fact, my father is taking off two days this week and they are making their way to the lagoon.

I enjoy fishing too but I prefer sea fishing on the bay. Fishing the lagoon with its 2 inches of water just isn’t the same. So, I have been waiting and biding my time.

That doesn’t stop summer from coming in, though. Last weekend Picassso went to the Lagoon with a family friend and my father. Each one caught a red drum or red fish.

And, that, ladies and gentlemen, means fish tacos, boiled shrimp, and black Beans with rice.

Now, the first time I cooked red fish I looked far and wide for recipes. Most of them were super buttery or fried. However, a fly fishing website had some simple recipes. I used their “spicy” recipe and tweaked it to make it point friendly.

Cajun Beer Bottle Red Drum Serves 4

3 weight watcher points

1 red fish, fillet into two pieces

1 Tbsp butter
1 medium orange(s)
2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 can(s) or bottle(s) Michelob ultra amber
1 Tbsp parsley (optional)
1 tsp black pepper
1 clove(s) garlic clove(s)

¼ tsp onion powder

1/8 tsp cayenne

1/8 tsp chipotle chili powder

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp tumeric

1 tbsp paprika

Ok, light  your gill (of if you have a gas grill then wait until the sauce is almost ready). Spray the fish with Pam or fat free cooking spray and slat and pepper them. Set aside (like back in the fridge).

In a medium skillet on medium heat, melt the butter.

add half of the Worcestershire sauce and the garlic.

And squeeze in the orange (watch the seeds), which you can juice first. I don’t do this because I make a mess as it is and I don’t need more dishes. But, you go right ahead. I will be picking seeds out of a hot pan.

While that gets all good and blendy, in a small bowl combine:

Onion powder,

All the red spices (I use a lot of these, huh?) So, that is: chili, paprika, cayenne, chipotle.

Then, add some salt.

Tumeric:


Then the brown sugar:

And, mix. Viola! You have cajun seasoning. You can premake this and store it for use for all your cajuny needs. And, friends, I have cajuny needs pretty often so maybe I should take my own advice and make this spice blend happen.

Alright, moment of zen-realization over. Take this puppy and pour it into the sauce on the stove.

Then, stir it all up.

Then, add in the beer.

What beer you ask, as it wasn’t in the picture.

Right. This one. Or, really any light beer. A summer ale might be nice, something zesty or citrus inspired.I don’t like beery per say, except as a batter or marinade, but doesn’t it just seem like something a beer-drinker would say?

Then, stir and simmer.

It should simmer for about 15 minutes. It should end up thicker and dark.

Now, take your sauce and your fish to the grill. Put down some aluminum foil or a grill pan, spray it with cooking spray, (light it if it is gas) and let it come to medium low. You don’t want a super hot grill, we are going to slowly cook this fish.

Man, I love his arms and that tattoo.

And, this fish.

Ok, baste the suckers with the sauce. Get um good and saucy. Close the lid. Cook covered for about 25-40 minutes depending on your fish thickness (crazy but true, the fish should be fork flaky in the center and it takes awhile). Do not turn over! Just open the lid and baste the fish every five minutes.

This is what it looks like at the end, when it is dark and you have no light and the poor fish is photographed with a mounting flash (I am sorry fish, this light does you no justice). Notice, the blackened crispy sauce? It will burn around the fish, but the fish will easily flake and peel up from the foil.

Then, serve the fish by its self or as taco filling (choose this please).

I also serve this with cajun boiled shrimp (add orange instead of lemon)

(since Picasso doesn’t ever eat the fish he catches (unnatural)) and

with black beans and rice, which I will show you another day (so easy you might cry).

Dear Summer, I love you. The end.

AuntieM

Responses

  1. The fish looks really good for tacos. I have to grasp extra ingredients from the store for this recipe. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

