Posted by: aauntiem | June 14, 2010

Carrot, Pineapple, and Cherry Walnut Breakfast Muffin

In case you thought that even with all my food neurosis I was perfect, I am not. I have a flaw.

I

am

forgetful.

There. Now you know I am human.

Life should be a little easier for you now that you know.

I blame it on  grad school– too many books, dates, author’s names and schools of theory occupy my head. I believe I surpassed the limit my mind could take (obviously my knowledge threshold is much lower than other peoples. Not a flaw though friends, not a flaw. The world is made beautiful by difference…or some justification like that).

Now that my threshold for knowledge has peeked, I spend my days looking for sunglasses, sports bras, paperwork, and the missing vanilla extract.

Picasso claims that he fears he will wake up one day and it will be all Fifty First Dates with me looking blankly at him wondering who the heck is in my bed. I already can’t remember my own phone number (and I have lived here two years).

I, on the other hand, fear that my brain will start to believe that self preservation (aka remembering your phone number or where the heck you put your sunglasses) takes priority over say postcolonial theorist Mohanty’s essay on Home.

I need that essay friends. It keeps me grounded. Without it I might come untethered and float away.

But, I must admit that being baffled by missing widgets has its downfalls.

To prove this, my lack of memory reared its ugly head Sunday.

I had a lovely weekend full of relaxation and pool time. Picasso and my papi had a boat maintenance weekend so I was left to my own devices.I lallygagged and what-not-ed.

Then, out of the blue Sunday evening the world came on fast and strong.

All the sudden there was a promised bike ride, dinner, lunch packing, baking, laundry, and season premier watching to be done and only about 2 hours to do it all in.

I was cooking dinner, Picasso trying to finish homework. The grill ran out of gas, things were in the oven and I was mid muffin batter and missing the vanilla extract.To the store Picasso went, leaving me on the trail of the vanilla.

Then, trying to get something out of my baking cabinet, which has become an organizational challenge with all these new ingredients, I broke my bottle of yeast.

Dang! Yeast on the floor, Luna trying to lick it up, a timer going off, and beans about to boil.

This, I imagine is what motherhood feel like: a room full of angst, expectation, and a mess on the floor.

It was a nightmare.

Somehow in all of this activity, I managed to make these delicious muffins for my breakfast this week. However, I made them sugar-free, which I realized after the first bite.Oh yeah, I forgot that ingredient (key ingredient really)

I never did find the vanilla.

Don’t worry I haven’t gone all super healthy or anything. To correct this healthy feel to the muffins, I have decided to use a WW cream cheese packet that I will add some splenda and vanilla extract (when I find it) to. Then, I am going to stir it up and put it atop a warmed up muffin.

Carrot, Pineapple, and Cherry Breakfast Muffins Serves 12

3 Weight Watcher Points Per Muffin

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup(s) sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 Tbsp freshly grated nutmeg

1/8 tsp table salt

8 oz Dole Canned Crushed Pineapple in Juice, well drained

3/4 cup(s) carrot(s), grated

1/4 cup(s) maple syrup

1 cup(s) buttermilk and 2 tbsp

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp canola oil

1 large banana(s), mashed

1/4 cup(s) dried cherries

1/8 cup(s) chopped walnuts

As you can see from the slapdash ingredients (sands sugar…and why is the milk there?) that I was busy.

Ok, go ahead and preheat your oven to 375°F degrees. In large bowl mix the two flour types, baking soda, baking powder,sugar, nutmeg, salt. If you want it to be more spice cakey add in some cinnamon, cloves, and/or all spice. This time I added a dash or two of cinnamon.

Stir up the dry mix.

Then, drain the pineapple.

This is a 20 oz can that I measured and stored; don’t freak if yours looks like a lot less.

Add the drained pineapple, shredded carrots, mashed banana, and chopped walnuts. Stir it around (it looks crumbly and weird now, thats normal).

In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, buttermilk, vanilla extract, and canola oil. Stir it all up.

Add the wet mixture to the  dry(ish) mixture and stir until mix is  just combined. Now, it looks better than normal!

Spoon or scooper-it into a lined or lightly oiled muffin pan

and bake for about 19-22 minutes or until golden brown.

I store mine in an air-tight container in the fridge so I can eat them all week.  I had one this morning and even without sugar it has a yummy sweet fruit center.

Have a great Monday. I’ll be here, looking for my vanilla.

AuntieM

P.S. My condition makes me think of a poem (thank god)…

Lose something every day. Accept the fluster

of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.

The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

— Elizabeth Bishop

Responses

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has kitchen mishaps like that.

    • Rachel, don’t ever worry. I am usually pretty good at making other people look good.

  2. The recipe sounds healthy and delicious. I really hope to try this for breakfast soon.
    I am forgotful, too- post-its help me survive!

    • Tes, I am so bad that I write it on a post-it note and forget about the post-it. So sad. Thanks, as always, for the comment! I can’t stop thinking about your crepe recipe…


Leave a Reply

Categories

