Posted by: aauntiem | June 11, 2010

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

I made Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins after reading this recipe here but I was being lazy and didn’t want to look through all my blog lists (because this is so difficult, didn’t you know?). So, I took the lazy way and I decided to use a recipe that I had lying around in a Weight Watchers dessert book.

Now, here is the thing about this post. I am one hundred million percent positive that somewhere in the universe pictures exist of the following: the ingredients, lemon zesting, mixing batter, etc. and I will find them (mark my words) but at this moment they are hiding in some digital crevice. What that means for you: You will see this recipe from the batter and beyond.

Stop looking at me that way. I will find them, dang it.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, Serves 24

adapted from Weight Watchers Best-Ever Desserts (2007)

2 Weight Watcher points for one muffin

2 cups of all purpose flour

1 cup of sugar, separated into ¾ cup and ¼ cup

3 tbsp. poppy seeds

2 ½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp salt

¾ cup fat free or reduced fat buttermilk

¼ cup of canola oil

1 large egg

1 egg white

3 tbsp. lemon zest (about two lemons)

¼ cup fresh lemon juice

1 tsp. lemon extract

*Now, I added the lemon extract and I added about 2 extra tbsp. of lemon zest because lemon flavored breads and muffins are never lemony enough for me. I also switched the fat free milk for buttermilk to make a creamy and fuller flavored muffin. So, feel free to follow the original recipe.

Ok, lets get started! Go ahead and preheat your oven to 400° and either line two 12 muffin pans with liners or spray with non-fat cooking spray.

Then, grab a large mixing bowl. Add the (sifted) flour, 2/3 cup of sugar, the 3 tbsp. of poppy seeds, the baking powder, and the salt. Stir and get your flour mixture good and poppy seeded.

Go ahead and zest your lemons.

Then, in another mixing bowl (small), combine the buttermilk, canola oil, the full egg and egg white, and lemon zest. Whisk until it is a milk eggy mixture.

Now, add the eggy mixture to the flour mixture. Stir until the flour is moist and the ingredients combined. But, do not go nuts here, you want to stir until just moistened. Then, add in your lemon extract. Stir again, just to mix it in.

* Side note: these scoopers are the best thing that ever happened to cookies, cake balls, muffins, and meatballs. If you don’t have one, buy it today.

Fill 24 muffin cups a little more than ½ way with batter (or if you are like me and don’t own that many, do it in batches).  Bake for 10-15 minutes, until the muffin tops are set and spongy-springy like.

Side Note: I am not a “pretty” baker, my stuff looks very “rustic” because I don’t always clean the sides, frost it without lines, or generally get concerned with the beauty of the product. This is probably why I will never be a REAL baker.

Meanwhile, juice your zested lemons. Then, take the remaining ¼ cup of sugar and lemon juice and combine in a small bowl. Microwave for 45 seconds to 1 minute. You want to get it hot enough for the sugar to dissolve. Then, stir it all up.

When the muffins are done, poke several holes in each muffin top. Then, sprinkle the lemon juice onto the muffin tops. The original recipe suggests coating the muffins until the juice is gone. So, I did this.

Do not follow my lead! I repeat step away from all that lemon juice.

Applying multiple layers of lemon juice drizzle makes a mean and very tart muffin for those muffins that were “hit” with juice multiple times. For the ones that got a little juice they were lemony and delicious but Jay almost died of tart mouth from one and at one point I thought the Orbitz gum lady might surprise us with a clean-your-dirty-mouth visit.

My suggestion is to give each muffin a sparingly quick brush of the lemon juice. Feel free to leave this step out though! Picasso (as usual) took the leftovers to work and I told him to warn people, which he did not, and I got some “My, those are lemony” remarks. Really, it was everyone’s nice way of saying lay off that lemon lady.

On a side note, what the heck am I gonna do starting next week when there is not a school full of 200 teachers to eat my leftover desserts? I might have to start giving my baking to the neighbors (which means I might have to introduce myself), the homeless, my brother-in-law, or heaven forbid my own work (where I might see and therefore eat them). It might be a long summer friends.

Either way, bake these muffins because the ones that didn’t bring a sour patch face were dang good.

Happy Weekend,

AuniteM

** Thanks Jay for the photo help.

Responses

  1. Yum! Now I want lemon poppyseed muffins again. I’ve never tried coating them with extra lemon juice, but thanks for the warning. If I do attempt it, I’ll go lightly.

  2. The recipe and the muffins both are too good. The recipe has been explained in an excellent manner.

  3. Thanks for checking out An Invisible Girl. I can’t wait to read more about your cooking creations. I love to cook and making it lighter has definitely been important!


Leave a Reply

Categories

