Posted by: aauntiem | June 8, 2010

Dessert Pizza

Yesterday, after interview number one million and ten I was feeling a little wonky. I have been on show, in a suit, answering questions for a month. I feel a little like a talking monkey.

But, yesterday, takes the horse pile so to speak. I had the worst interview of my life. I had “two left feet and bad shoes” and nothing I said was right. Things like this are bound to happen, I told myself, everyone has off days.

The weather matched my mood.

It was whiny and grey, but harmless and never really gave way to a total shower.

I made pizza the no fuss way, with just turkey peperoni and cheese. Then, standing in my kitchen waiting for Picasso to get home and my pizza to bake I had a brilliant idea.

I would use the other pizza crust to make a dessert pizza, like the kind I used to get at Pizza Hut when I was a kid and we dinned in as a family.

This great idea caused me to spiral and have a ten minute war with myself. Back and forth I packed and unpacked ingredients onto my counter. The brain yoyo was visible as I placed cherries on the counter and put them back, looked in my baking cabinet for brown sugar then decided against it, and finally looked everywhere for the second pizza crust that was just sitting on the counter where I left it.

Obviously, I am a nut bag.

It was like a good five minutes before I decided I was in a right enough mental state to make this dessert, eat a slice, and then pack it away for the office.

Sometime you have to ask yourself, am I the insane cat lady right now? Will I, realistically, end up standing in front of an empty pizza dish mad eyed, stained scarlet by the cherry juice,  and licking my fingers like gollum?

No? Ok, then it is safe to bake.

Sometimes, you ask that question and the answer is yes, but the next answer is still it is safe to bake.

I am work in progress people.

With my decision firm like jello, I decided to make the pizza. I rolled out the dough, measured out a tablespoon of honey and spread it across my crust. Then, I decided some fresh cherries, threw in some blueberries. Then, I decided to get crazy and add 1/2 cup of walnuts. I spread the berry mixture on the honey pizza crust. Then, I sprinkled splenda, brown sugar, and cinnamon across the top. Next, I took a weight control otalmeal pack and sprinkled half of it on this fruity pizza with crumble topping. I finally added about 6-7 squirts of spray butter.

Then, I turned my oven down to 450 and baked it for about 10 minutes. While it baked, I pointed this puppy out in recipe builder.

In total control people. Total.

I took it from the oven and it looked divine.

I added a piece to my plate, almost added another it looked so good, thought better of it and went about my business of reading, and generally relaxing.

Take that gollum!

Dessert Pizza                 Serves 12

3 Weight Watcher Points

1 recipe Pioneer Woman’s Pizza Crust

1 Tbsp honey

1 cup(s) cherries

1 cup(s) blueberries

1/2 cup(s) SPLENDA

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 serving(s) oatmeal packet

1/2 cup(s) walnut halves

1/3 cup(s) unpacked brown sugar

12 one second spray(s) Spectrum Naturals Canola oil with butter flavor, spray

Bake at 450 for about 10-15 minutes. You want to make sure the crust is done but the toppings don’t burn.

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

