Posted by: aauntiem | June 7, 2010

Baking Bonanza and Low Fat Cherry Heath Coffee Ice Cream

This weekend I baked and I cooked and then, barefoot and unpregant (can you be  unpregant?) I baked again.

I made bruschetta with tomatoes grown on my porch.

I made grilled red fish from Picasso’s fishing trip to the mosquito lagoon.

I whipped up some lemon poppy seed muffins after reading about these.

As if that wasn’t enough, I just had to figure out how to make low fat ice cream after the Tasty Kitchen feature.

Obviously, I suffer from book-neurosis like my friend Nina (I  miss you come back, now, thank you). She claims that she suffers from a disease where if she reads about good-eats in a book, even if just in passing, she gets a hankering for that food. The cravings, she claims, are unmatched…like…like you are gestating or something. So, Nina, my sea-fairy whimsical friend, will read about a to die for peach in a book and then MUST eat a peach.

I, therefore, suffer from a larger scale version of Nina’s sickness: word-neurosis. See, this affliction happens to me when I read novels AND blogs AND cereal boxes OR commercials OR… well it just happens. Once, while teaching Bastard Out of Carolina in my LIT course, I ate biscuits and gravy with fried green tomatoes for an entire week.

As you are beginning to really realize (and I am sure it has set into a great and terrible fear for my or your sanity) I might be a little obsessed with words. I may need to seek professional help.

I think I realized the toll of my obsession late Sunday afternoon.

The realization? It caused me to do what was only natural. I made meatballs to go with my spaghetti dinner.

Alas, my friend a am a functioning word-aholic. I stayed on point and exercised. Everyday. So, I am going to take that as a sign that no intervention is needed and continue on as planned. I will be reading the new Sarah Addison Allen book this week, so don’t be surprised if I make you a southern red velvet cake before Friday.

So, it all works out.

Take, for instance, my need to replicate the coffee ice cream on TK. Everyone is a winner.

After researching home made low fat ice cream, calling Bruster’s and pretending to be stuck out of town with no way to get some and asking for the recipe (fail), having Jay call a different ice cream shop and pretending to be pregnant and out of town (fail), and then pointing out the TK ones (fail), I came across NY Times article. Here is the base for the recipe, which I modified.

Now, I made the recipe with myself in mind. I dreamed as far and as wide as I could dream. I dreamed of coffee heath bar crunch and fresh cold cherries. Then, I got a nose bleed from being so far in the clouds. This caused me to become distracted and I promptly landed on my behind. With a sore derriere I came back to reality where I would need to take into account my hubby who eats three things. Thank god one of them is coffee ice cream. So, my recipe pictures are for the Picasso friendly version but my spirit is in the recipe. I task you with making my dreams come true.

Do not disappoint me.

Cherry Heath Coffee Ice Cream Serves 4 ( a lot of ice cream friends)

3 weight watcher points

2 cup(s) fat-free half-and-half

1 tsp table salt, pinch

3 Tbsp cornstarch

1/2 cup(s) Splenda

1 tsp maple syrup

1/2 cup(s) strong! black coffee, 2 tsp ground coffee beans

1 cup(s) cherries, pitted and diced

1/2 bar(s) Hershey’s Milk Chocolate English Toffee Bar(s), ground

In a large sauce pan, add 1 1/2 cups of fat free half and half,  coffee,  the splenda, and tsp of salt.

Set to medium heat. Cook until mixture begins to steam.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, blend cornstarch and 1/2 cup of half and half. Stir until it is free of lumps.

Next, add cornstarch mixture to pot.

Stir as it thickens, about 5 minutes. You want it to almost come to a boil.

After five minutes, reduce heat to  low and stir for another 5 minutes.

Then, Stir in maple syrup.

There should not be any lumps. If there are you fail. Really, just strain to remove lumps.

Transfer to a bowl. Cover tightly (as in on top of the mixture so you don’t form a skin) to the mixture’s surface with saran wrap.

Clean up all your mess. Again, for the twelfth time in one day. Avoid looking at the mess on the floor.

Once the mixture has cooled for several hours, pour into an ice cream machine. Now, here is where you add the toffee chips, diced (fresh!) cherries, and crushed coffee beans.  Then, freeze according to the machines directions.

Doesn’t this look divine?

I made myself a serving. And, after it was already melting I remembered my dream for this ice cream.And, I did something I have never done. I threw out the chocolate.

And, added some cherries. So, this is a partial rembrence of a dream.

And, even a partial remembrance was awesome.

Sweet Dreams,

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

