Posted by: aauntiem | June 3, 2010

Simply Remember My Favorite Things

I have my third and final interview today for an assistant headmaster position at a local private school. This one is a take no prisoners, being interviewed by a panel, kind of horror.

This means:

  1. I let Picasso cook dinner last night.
  2. I am wearing a suit. Well, everything but the jacket because with the jacket I would sweat through my silk shirt.
  3. I did not eat the dinner Picasso made last night.
  4. I (yes, me) went running (on purpose, not away from something). In a thunderstorm.
  5. I have forgotten everything I have ever know about anything, which wasn’t much to begin with.

In an effort to get myself to freak out less, I have started thinking about the sound of music. Yes, that in itself could elicit a whole new set of terrors but for  now I am simply trying to remember a few of my favorite things:

  • The song from the Gatorade commercial. This song makes me want to get up and start something. It makes me dance around my loft. It makes Picasso laugh at me. It is magical.
  • Dr. Pepper lip balm.

I don’t even really like Dr. Pepper but this, this stuff is cherry like and looks like lip gloss. It makes summer sun bearable.

  • Australian Gold Moisture Lock. I put it on after laying out. I put it on before bed. I put it on. Well, I just put it on. I don’t even wear lotion that much but the smell of this stuff…

it is like coconut, sun, summer, and yum.

  • My hiking shoes. They have saved my butt at least twice already.

  • Then, there is this magic

which hides pores and makes an almost 30 something person look early to mid twenty something.

  • And, this magic:

Sarah Addison Allen is amazing.  She just came out with another book in March. Reading it is #1 on my list of things to do while Picasso is away helping my grandma fix her roof.

She includes food references, everyday magic, and her southern characters have great and lovable quirks. In Garden Spells there is a character that gives you a perfect haircut…like magic. Where has this woman been all my life?

If she could just write more now that would be great. Thank you!

  • Finally, my lover the DD iced coffee. There are no more words.

Alas, today I have a dewy fresh face and coconut smelling skin and cherry flavored lips that sipped a DD iced coffee while listening to a burned cd of the song. I have the book to read in case I need a moment to re-ground in my car before I woosaw and go in. The only thing I am missing is my hiking shoes, which I don’t think would go with the suit.

I guess that means I am completely set for today. As prepared as I am gonna be.  I will surely be fabulous and brilliant. Or, I will trip and fall and bust my knee when walking into the room.

Either way, its gonna be fine (at least that it was what I keep telling myself).

No recipes when I am nauseated. You are just gonna have to suffer with me!

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

