Posted by: aauntiem | May 25, 2010

Mango Corn Salsa

After a harsh back breaking battle with technology, I have emerged from the underbelly of mobile me Victorious.

No applause necessary.

I am the chosen-one after all (stop laughing, I can barley hear myself think).

As promised, I have my recipe for Mango Corn Salsa. I made this little number last week with my left over chipotle lime grilled corn. I was going to put it atop this yummy smoky shrimp that I make, but I got the death sickness and never made it to the shrimp.

Those are coming this week….right after I reheat a batch of Pw’s Chicken Soup (4 points per cup and worth it, really worth it) for my still sour throat.

This salsa tastes like a summer afternoon thunder storm in Florida. Like those blue-black clouds that fill up the sky, the tastes in this salsa wash over you in waves. It isn’t very spicy, it is just intense. I prefer it over grilled meats like shrimp or that turkey I made, but you could also serve it with some chips or make it the focal point of chicken tostadas.

Go forth and do what you will with my salsa. Plus, like all salsas you should play with the ingredients based on what you have or what you in the mood for. Like switching the mango for nectarines.

Mango Corn Salsa,  3 tbsp a serving

0 weight watchers points

I used:

1 medium mango(es)
2 medium corn on the cob
1 large yellow pepper(s)
1/2 cup(s) canned jalapeno peppers, red and green
1/2 cup(s)  onion(s)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1/3 cup(s) cilantro
2 small tomato(es)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp sea salt
1 Tbsp honey, optional

diced chilies, optional

First, I de-cobbed (not a word, right?) the corn. You can do this the simple way, by opening a can, or you can do it may way with some left overs. You choose.If you choose the hard way, do it in a bowl because it makes a mess on a cutting board.

These sheets of corn are *Amazing* if you spray some fat free butter spray and fry them up in a hot skillet. I mean yum. So, if you think I make to much Mexican-Cajun just make that instead of the salsa.

Or, you could add this grilled corn to some cornbread. Yum, that makes me what my grandmother’s broccoli cornbread. That is going on the grocery list. Now.

Focus. On Salsa.

Next,peel your mango.

Slice and Dice (literally). Then, add to your corn.

Next, slice up your pepper (feel free to use red or  green too/instead of).

Dice it.

Add it to the mix.

Now, this is looking very yellow. So, lets lived this salsa up.

Dice and add your tomatoes. Add some diced onions (that you forgot to photograph). Add, some sea salt.

Dash in some cayenne.

Then I added some chipotle seasoning. I couldn’t help it.

Then, for all that is holy, add some fresh cilantro. I only had dried and my salsa suffered. It was like orphaned ugly baby salsa. That was twice last week that I failed with the dried. Trust my, fresh is really the only way to go.

Now, dice and add in your jalapenos. You can use fresh if you have them. It will keep things up.

Then, squeeze in your lemon and/or lime juice.

Then, stir it all up. Here you can add some diced chilies to intensify the heat or add some honey to balance all that acid. Taste and season as necessary.

Let it boil, toil, and trouble away in your fridge for about an hour before serving.

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

