Posted by: aauntiem | May 21, 2010

Southwest Grilled Turkey Loin

I have come down with some sort of married-to-a-middle-school-teacher-plague. My plague brings a fever, irrational behavior, and a general ti-ti feeling.

That is coupled with the fact that my dog’s breath is so foul right now that it induces my sensitive smell to gag ratio reflux (and I’m sick so she wants to help make me feel better).

I am all snot and sick hair.

She is all stink face.

So, lets get cooking shall we?

Now, sometime long-long ago I received this summer WW cookbook. I can’t tell you when or how I got it. Chalk it up to the mysteries of the universe.

This book is my Chloe Finley book—it just appeared to me because I needed it.

I make this sandwich all the time—pear, manchango, roasted turkey. Divine.

This book — It is like the Floridian weight watchers cooking guru.

When we went grocery shopping this week, with summer in the air and a head cold far on the horizon, I had this grill deliciousness in mind.

To my great surprise, my grocery store did not have a pork tenderloin—there was some sort of run on them or something.

At first I was filled with despair, shock, and sense of abandonment. How could this happen, I wondered, and to such good people?

But, like all great heroes, I pulled myself together and used all my great wits to problem solve. Really, I just looked to the left and saw a turkey tenderloin  right next to where my pork one should be.

What is this magic, I asked myself? Where did it come from? Why hadn’t I heard of it?

Obviously, I am the last to know everything.

But, this find was sure genius. The turkey roast lowered the points value of the meal by 2 and I personally like turkey better.

So, Tuesday night I set to work a marinating the turkey to grill for Wednesday. Folks, what I am about to share is pure magic.

It might be the best thing I have ever made and I am a bigger fan of sugar buttery bread than meat. But, dang this stuff is good.

And, for those of you that hate the heat, I swear on my cookbook that this is not spicy. It is just pure delicious magic.

You will never leave summer again without it.

Southwest Grilled Pork Turkey Tenderloin Serves 4

4 Weight Watcher Points

1 pound(s) Jennie-O Turkey Breast Tenderloin
1 Tbsp honey
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp paprika
1 tsp Pepper, Black Ground
1 tsp table salt
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp McCormick Ground cumin

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/8 tsp chipotle chili powder
2 medium pear(s) (optional)
1 large yellow pepper(s) (optional)
1 medium sweet red pepper(s) (optional)

*If made without the grilled fruits and vegetables, subtract 1 ww point per serving.

FYI: I ended up switching the olive oil called for in the recipe with honey. It is better that way, I promise. I also added the chipotle (surprise, surprise) and increased the amount of onion, garlic, and cumin. So, as you can see, I follow recipes very well.

Alright, add the chili powder to a bowl.

Then, add paprika.

Next, add:

onion

garlic

cumin:

chipotle and cayenne

salt and pepper

Now, stir it all up. Add, if you are smarter than I am, then it is just in a big bowl you will marinate in.

But, I started the rub in a small bowl and had to transfer it. Brilliance is my other middle name, second only to grace.

So, you just add in your turkey loin to your big bowl.

Next, add the honey.

Turn to coast.

Let it marinate for at least an hour and up to 24.

Once your meat has marinated, go ahead and turn your grill on to medium-high to high heat.

Spray the grill with PAM.

Add the turkey loin. Grill, closed, for five-seven minutes, then flip. Grill for 5-7 minutes. Repeat once or twice more (needs to cook between 17-22 minutes).

When the meat is on its second round, go ahead and rinse and slice your pears and peppers.

You want to leave the skin on the pears but remove the core.

Remove the turkey from the grill and wrap in foil for about 10 minutes, letting it get all juicy like.

While that is juicy-juicing add your pears and peppers to the grill. Grill for about 4-7 minutes.

As you see, I did not do this. I put the veggies on in the last five minutes of the turkey cookin. Then, my veggies became sad and lonely while the meat wait to be cut. Advise: you should not repeat my mistakes.

This awesome awesome turkey and grilled veggies serves four. Cut the meat into 20 slices, serving everyone five. Then add about 2 slices of pears and 4 slices of peppers.

Doesn’t this look delicious?

**Oh, and if you don’t feed four but two like us, then the next day turn it into a roasted BBQ Sammy. Just fork-shred your left over meat, turn on your crock pot to low, add the shredded turkey and some BBQ sauce. Let it slow cook for about an hour and then serve on a lite hamburger bun. It is just as amazing on day two as it is the first time around (1 pt bun, 4 pts bbq= 5 pts bbq sandwich, which I would serve with fries, a pickle, jalpenos, and grilled pineapple ‘cuse I am that kind of girl).

AuntieM

Responses

  1. Never Bern much of a turkey fan, but I may just have to try this. Hmm.

    And your dog looks so forlorn in that pic, I just wanna hug her. Then I think of the stink face. Alas, at the moment, we don’t have time for pets. One day.

    • Looney-tunes is a notorious awful never gonna look cute in a photograph dog. It is actually one of my life missions to get that dog to look as cute in print as she does in real life.

      Its nice that your life is busy, pets will happen one day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

