Posted by: aauntiem | May 18, 2010

Grilled Corn with Chipotle Lime Butter

For whatever reason, Friday nights have kind of become family night. It a lot like the Gilmore Friday family dinner—well, without all the money exchanges and forced conversations. And, we don’t have a butler. And, my mom doesn’t wear those suits. So, like I said, our Friday dinner is very similar.

…moving on…

Fridays role around and usually I get a call at work around 4:00 ish. It is, surprise, my mother, calling to tell me that she and dad have decided to go to a movie and would we like to meet them for dinner after?

Now, this ritual is not set in stone.

In fact, this ritual parallels another. Picasso and I always plan to have steaks on the grill Friday nights (he makes awesome steaks, yumm-ie). We plan it in grocery shopping and he grabs them on his way home from work Friday.

I can’t actually count the number of times this has actually happened, where we actually had dinner at home on a Friday, but it is rare. Regardless of what historical patterns forecast, we plan to make food and then usually end up at some steak house with mom, dad, my brother, and his girlfriend.

Don’t ask me to explain why we do these things. It works for us.

Friday, par usual, my parents invited us to Outback. I should preface this by saying that Outback has the best most salty and delicious baked potatoes on the whole of planet earth.

Now, I didn’t order one of those potatoes because they come with delicious and high point fixins like cheese, butter, and sour cream (and obviously from my chili-cheese dog I consumed Saturday, this was of the utmost importance to me). I did not order a potato but Picasso and my chef-in-training brother did. Two, actually, because neither one eat vegetables, salads, or soups, so they had to get another potato or a side of fries.

So my butter-less veggies and I were smooshed between FOUR! Outback baked potatoes. Four. It was like purgatory. I cried out to the heavens for someone to save me. I threw my vegetables to blind Picasso and Chef, diverting their attention so I could snatch their potatoes. I let out an evil laugh. Then, pie-in-your-face style I devoured them.

Or, maybe I just listened while my brother explained how they make them.

Muah-ha-ha-ha.

So, Picasso and I made some yesterday to go with the steaks we were gonna make on Friday. I added a side of Corn with a chipotle lime butter (because obviously I am obsessed with chipotle).

Grilled Corn with Chipotle Lime Butter   Serves 4

2 Weight Watcher Points

4 ears of corn

3 tbsp of light or fat-free butter

2 tbsp cilantro

1 tsp sea salt

½ tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp lime zest

Now, I decided to add the paprika in as I went along so it isn’t pictured here. But, it adds a smoky yum-yum flavor so I vote add it.

First, soak your corn in water for 20 minutes.

Take our your 3 tbsp of butter and let them soften. Once the butter is soft, go ahead and add the cilantro. It is best to use fresh cilantro, it tastes much better, but I was out and really you should do as I say sometimes and not as I do (case in point the Cinco De Mayo cookies).

Then, zest and add the lime.

Then, add in your salt.

Then, add in your cayenne.

Then, fight with your stinking camera to get it to focus on the cayenne. Lose the battle.

Then, add in your paprika.

Stir it all up and let it all meld together.

Then, put it aside while you do whatever it is you do. Oh, and preheat your grill to medium-high.

After the corn has soaked, remove the husks and those fine stringy hairs.

If you don’t have this tool then use a toothbrush.

Then, roll each ear in foil. If you don’t want to use foil, tie back the husks instead of removing them, take off those fine hairs, then re-wrap the corn in their husks.

Place the corn on the grill. Grill for 15-17 minutes, turning every 2 minutes.

Unwrap your beautiful, crunchy corn. Add a tbsp of butter and roll it all around. Then, enjoy it with the baked potato I am about to show you!

Now, I apologize in advance for the photos. When Picasso makes something in the kitchen, photographing it be dammed. He moves at the speed of light and refuses to pause. When that man is hungry get out of the way.

Sea Salted Baked Potato   Serves 2

3 Weight Watcher Points

2 medium baking potatoes

1/8 cup sea salt

PAM

Fixins (add your points)

Grab two medium potatoes. The ones we are using are giant and really offer two servings. The points values are based on medium.

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Spay a baking sheet with PAM.

Wash your potatoes well.

Then, role your watery potatoes on a plate of sea salt. Get them good and covered.

My chefy brother explained that this makes the potatoes leek their starch, causing them to be flaky and dry AND delicious.

Now, bake them for one hour.

Once you remove the potatoes from the oven, pinch the two ends together (like you would a finger trap or kinda like unrolling a tootsie roll) as this will cause them to burst open the top and make it all restaurant pretty like.

See.

AuntieM

Responses

  1. It looks tasteful. I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    • Tes, it is tasty…kinda like how your lazy breakfast recipe looks.

  2. Love your recipes and love that you post the WW points! We love grilled corn around here and that is what I’m trying next.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I really, truly appreciate the comments.

    • You are very welcome. Happy corn eating!

  3. Thanks for the comment on my blog! Those recipes look totally fab, thinking about running to the store and buying corn right now.

    Can’t wait to keep reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

