Posted by: aauntiem | May 13, 2010

The Pioneer Woman Saga, Numero Dos

Operation Take Pioneer Woman by Storm, Phase II:

Joojuzed apron + some sort of baked yumminess.

Later in the planning stages, I decided I wanted to add some sort of Ree treat.

What should I make her I pondered? I channeled my very sophisticated friend Amanda and took informal polls everywhere I went.

I asked the people I know “What is your favorite dish that I make?”

I asked strangers “If given recipe A or recipe B, which would you most likely to excited to receive?”

I asked myself whether to give low point or not give low point?

Then, I did what I always do with food gifts; I went shopping last minute and let the ingredients jump out at me. I bet you would never have guessed that at this point in time I decided on something with chipotle.

While we were in World Market for the apron, we came across some dried cantaloupe and some chipotle lime cashews. That was all the inspiration I needed.

I decided to make my family’s famous chex Mix recipe for the Punks and Marlboro Man and then joojuz it up for PW (there seems to be a whole lot of JooJuzing going on.)

This recipe, for the original not Ree’s) will either ruin your life because it is so good you will need therapy to get over it OR (if you a better person than myself) you build a cult following and people will simply add it to the list of things that you must make for every party.

You will need:

My Momma and Aunt Nae’s Chex Mix   serves 24 (about 1/2 cup)

3 weight watcher points

1 stick of butter, 8 tbsp.

3 cups each of rice chex, wheat chex, and corn chex

1 cup pretzels

1 cup of assorted nuts

1 cup cheez-its

4 tbps of Worcestershire sauce

1-2 tbps seasoned salt

1 tsp onion powder

1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder

Now, some of you may recognize this recipe. It is similar to the original chex mix– but the big giant secret is that all the good stuff is doubled, except the butter.

Ok, go ahead and heat your oven to 250F.

Take your butter and melt it in the microwave. Start with 30 seconds and then go in 10 second bursts.

Next, add in your Worcestershire sauce.

Stir.

Then your others seasonings.

(so orange, it is blinding, color correction..anyone?)

Then, stir.

It should end up gritty and delicious.

Get out a big roasting pan.

Pour your gritty sauce and use it to form a layer on the bottom of your pan.

Then, pour on your layers of cereal.

Next add the nuts, pretzels, and cheezits.

Now, stir it all up until the sauce is everywhere.

Keep going. It takes a long time. Call in some reinforcements if needed.

When you think it is good and ready, bake for one hour, stiring it evey 15 minutes.

Let it cool and then store in a container (I will post the recipe I made for PW another time. Don’t worry, it was so good I’ll make it again soon).

While the chex Mix was baking, I addressed my labels (I’m too shy to post them), wrote her a card, and packed up the airplane survival kit.

The Kit included:

A snack pack of chex mix for each PUNK and MM (its got all things he loves). I attached a pair of monster eyes to each one, ‘cuse plane rides are boring.

Ree Snack bags.

A pirate kit for four, a way for Ree’s band of pirates to remember Orlando (again, on a plane).

The Apron, for home.

Some fun baking cups and sushi napkins for when she is missing the city.

Dog Treats for Charlie.

A cow pooping key chain for when she is on the road and misses home.

A few other assorted snack foods

A stationary pack of Cross Creek Florida(Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings), for the other Pioneer Women that came before her.

I stuffed it all in a bag and

went to bed, very late, with visions of calf-nuts and holey yoga pants in my head…

Responses

  1. WOW! you presented her with alot of stuff! That is awesome! I just gave her a subscription to one of the magazines I work on: SAVUER.
    But you went all out! FUN!


Leave a Reply

Categories

