Posted by: aauntiem | May 10, 2010

Orlando Magic, Chili Cheese Dogs, and Fries: What Could Be Better Than That?

There are some fundamental things that Picasso loves: Jolly Rancher Fruit Chews, Chili, the Orlando Magic, and NASCAR (don’t tell him I told you, he will think it ruins his debonair mystique).

Imagine watching the Orlando Magic in the playoffs while eating chili and finishing it off with  some fruit chews.

Let’s just say I have never even tried it for fear I would become a 20-something widow.

Me, on the other hand, I am just a fair weathered fan that gets swept up in the playoffs.

Oh sure, when we go to a game of some sort I get dressed up, paint my face like a warrior, and happily eat giant Turkey Legs with a side of nachos.

That is an event.

It is something your experience.

To actively sit down on your own couch and watch like 85 games—well let’s just say that even in an alternate universe (withstanding the principal that there are an infinite possibilities) I am not doing that. I promise.

I grew up with a man that watched every sporting event on, sometimes watching several and listening to some via the radio (and now via the internet). I mean at the wedding we attended on Saturday my father was glued to my I-Phone so he could get real-time updates.

Sports for dinner and sports for breakfast. Sports, sports, sports.

He is actually a lawyer by day and coach by night—he coaches football for local high school. I mean, this is a man that still, even after my sister has graduated from college sports, announces the softball games at her former high school.

Fun Facts:

  1. During most of my childhood my Father owned (and wore) Zebra striped FSU (where he played golf and football (walk-on, don’t get too excited)) sweat pants.

  1. During what I imagine was a bowl game, my father opened our door and yelled our fight song and then danced (while wearing those pants) down the drive way. To explain how good we were to the neighbors, he said.

Where was my lovely mother during all of this you may ask? Ignoring him, which I imagine one must do to continue thinking positively about the choice to make children with this man.

Mostly, my mother thought of it as an excuse to make snacks, by far her favorite food group and general meal choice, and then read a book.

I am pretty sure in a secret contract somewhere signed in blood I made a deal that said I would never marry a man that liked sports as much as my father. Ever.

And, to give credit where credit is due, Picasso is not a crazy sports fan.

Luckily for me, his favorite team is the Magic—when we were first dating I would sit next to him while he watched the games and I would paint my toes, oddly enough not much has changed. I grew up going to their games because we had season tickets when I was a kid. So, if ever there was a team I could call my own it is them (and FSU by proxy).

Now, I am not going to bore you with the Mother’s Day talk of yesterday, or even my carpool ride to work—all of which included basketball talk that I willingly engaged in but I would just like to say that O’ Town is really getting around the Magic.

They are awesome.

They are on fire.

Dwight Howard is silly and funny and we love him. Pietrus you come alive during the playoffs. Gortat you make second string look good. And so on.

So, in honor of the playoff games and Picasso’s willingness to love only a couple of sports instead of all them all, I bring you a recipe for the stadium food we will be eating in my house tonight.

Whether you like sports of not, sometimes you just need a chili dog.

Game Night Chili Dogs!              Serves 2

Meal= 7 Weight Watcher Points

2 item(s) fat-free turkey hot dog

2 item(s) Light Hot Dog Roll or Bun

1/2 cup(s) Hormel Canned Chili With Beans

4 Tbsp low-fat shredded cheddar cheese

2 Tbsp onion(s)

1 Tbsp canned jalapeno peppers

30 item(s) frozen french-fried potatoes, baked

Go ahead and make your fries according to package directions, adding some seasoned salt brior to baking (because it is good). If you want homemade baked fries then you will have to go to another blog or come back later, this is a quick meal. Ok, fine.  I’ll tell you. Just slice up some potatoes rounds (peeled or unpeeled), spray a baking sheet with PAM and place potatoes on baking sheet in a single layer, spray the potatoes with PAM or lightly brush with olive oil,  add seasoned salt, and bake at 375 for about 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.

Next, grill, microwave, or broil your hot dogs according to package directions. For the traditional method you should boil.

So, add water to a sauce pot, making sure there’s enough water to cover the hot dogs. Set the burner to high heat and bring the water to a boil.

Add the hot dogs to the boiling water. Turn down the burner to medium and allow the dogs to boil for 5-7 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat up your chili by adding it to a small sauce up. Warm the chili at medium-low while the hot dogs are cooking. Stir often and once it starts to boil, turn it down to low (Again, you can make your own but you are gonna have to make your own…I’ll give you a recipe some other time).

Go ahead and prepare your condiments. Measure your cheese, dice your onion, gather jalapenos.

Remove the cooked hot dogs with tongs and allow water to drip off.

Assemble by placing hot dogs in a bun, add ¼ cup (or less) of chili, 2 tbsp of cheese, 1 tbsp onion, some jalapenos, and ketchup and mustard as necessary. Add 15 fries to your plate.

Stand back and admire the fact that you are at home and eating like these guys:

I mean you get this:

But it doesn’t taste like this (no offense):

Serve with a zero point salad if you are feeling guilty.

If your like me, you probably want to serve it with 1-2 point cookie. That’s just me, you go ahead and make that salad.

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

