Posted by: aauntiem | May 5, 2010

Cinco De Mayo Chipotle Walnut Brownie Bites

Last night I went to my momma’s house to work on creating a stellar-please-please hire me lesson plan. See, I have a second  interview tomorrow for an assistant headmaster position.

The catch– I have zilch by way of working with the youngins. My expertise is with the awesome and often whinny, don’t want to do the work but feel the need to impress you with their vast vocabulary, college kids. Five year olds they aint.

So, my mother (the most awesome kindergarten teacher in the world who reads all stories out loud with a voice and talks through dinner prep in various accents) came to my rescue.

See, if I get this job I will need to teach character development and “hey kid, don’t do that” (oddly enough) won’t do the trick.

I went to the wisewoman-shammam momma and said please teach me how talk to people under the age of 11. So, we talked about the lesson I wanted to teach, we got a handy book to help aid the lesson, and I would ask her “Can I talk to them about class, because this book is really about learning to accept people from different classes.Velvet is seen as odd because she does not have money.”

And, my wise mother did not bonk me on the head but very patiently (like she was talking to her kindergartners) said, let’s ask something like “Does having more mean always being having the best?”

I nodded my head. Oh, yes, very wise.

This went on for a very long time until finally we were sitting in the kitchen corner by the desk just talking about other nonsense. It was way past my bedtime (like 9:45 and I wasn’t even home yet!). My father randomly walked into the kitchen to gloat about the magic game– he dances about sports like my mother sings about life, with great vigor and wit. All of the sudden we were talking about food and blogs and food.

The next thing I knew I was immersed in a Paula Dean cook-off and thinking of what I would enter, how Picasso would film it all, what to put in it to make it stand out. In essence, I had gotten eyes too big for my stomach.

My brother, a chef in training (no, really) listened to my possible recipes and said mayha (which= no, stupid in brother speak) until I said lets amend that recipe and add chipotle. And, then madness was born.

So, being sane and normal I went home and decided to bake (for Cinco de Mayo people) some Chipotle Walnut Brownie Bites (not the recipe I am entering for the PD cook off).

Chipotle took over.

It was on my mind.

It got me.

And, when things like this happen, they usually go very very wrong.

Like last night.

See, I had made these before (and they were so good). Last night, however, I did not have a cake box/mix for devil’s food.

I thought– I am for real now. I am on a foodie blogroll. I am important and special and things. I will improvise in the kitchen because, in case you did not know, that is what real kitchen people do.

I looked up a devils food recipe in my trusty Better Homes book (I heart you still) and whipped up some of that cake mix. Then, I followed the recipe.

It looked all wrong. Bad, even.

So, instead of quitting while I was ahead, I added another egg, some oil, some coffee, and whambham– it was all wrong, worse even.

So, instead of quitting I added other things that I will not admit to now.

I baked said cookie.

I ate said cookie.

It was like a spicy chocolate biscuit.

I ate another, just because I could not figure this all out–what were you, you chocolate but not sweet bread like cookie? I was confused.

I stood in my kitchen for about ten minutes, chalked it up to the fact that I thought I was hardcore (letting all this go to my head… silly girl, trix are for real chefs), threw them away and called myself silly.

So, here is the original recipe (which is awesome, I swear) and make sure to have cake mix or be better at cooking than I am.

Chipotle Walnut Brownie Bites   serves 30

1 Weight Watcher Points

1(9 oz) package Devil’s food cake mix, dry

2 tbsp. cocoa powder

2 Tbsp butter

1 egg

1/8 Tbsp fat-free skim milk

1/2 cup(s) walnuts, chopped

1 Tbsp maple syrup

1/4 cup dried berries (optional)

  1. Go ahead and set your oven to 375.
  2. Combine cake mix, cocoa powder, chipotle, egg, butter, maple syrup.
  3. Form dough, which will be kinda chalky, into 1 inch balls. Dip the balls in the milk then the tops into your walnuts.
  4. Bake 8-9 minutes.

(These failed. The real cookies flatten out some.)

I told you it would get mesy,

AuntieM

Responses

  1. You are too funny! I enjoyed reading your post and appreciate the honesty to admit that things DO go wrong in the kitchen 🙂 Your mom seems like a wonderful lady too….
    Thanks for making me smile…

    • Joanne,
      Thanks for the comment. Things in my kitchen go wrong all the time, I’ll just try not to let that stop me 🙂

  2. Your post really made me smile. This happens to me too. I do have to ask what the “2 cocoa powder” is, is it for 2 tablespoon or teaspoon? The spice sure makes me want to try and make this. Oh and If you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    • Alisa,
      Thanks for your comment and for alerting me to the error in the recipe. It might help if I told people how much to put! It is 2 tbsp. of cocoa powder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

