Posted by: aauntiem | April 27, 2010

Crunchy Fiery Fish Tacos

So, last week I made these awesome tacos. See, I got the idea to try them when I was sitting in a doctor’s office fearing that I was going to be the only woman in Florida to ever die of vagina elephantitis. There was this woman on the giant tv in the waiting room talking about how obese people are and how no one will eat fish. She lectured and cooked tacos. I, even in my fragile state, made my mother write down where to get the recipe.

I have a problem, well several, we already know this. Stop pointing to the obvious. Focus on the fiery goodness of these tacos. Look, at least one good thing came from my swollen ba-jinga.

Fiery Fish Tacos serves six

4 weight watcher points for 2 tacos

Spicy Fish Tacos:

1-1/2 pounds white fish

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon lime juice

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/8 teaspoon chipotle seasoning

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

2 clove garlic, pressed

½ cup of Southern Fish Fry Mix, or cornmeal

12 whole wheat or corn flour tortillas (you want 1 pts wraps here)

Sweet and Spicy Slaw

Lima Sour Cream Goodness

Sweet and Spicy Slaw:

2 cup fine-shredded green cabbage

1 tablespoon lime juice

1/4 cup of  honey

2 tbsp minced red onion

1 tbsp corn

2 teaspoon minced jalapeños

1 tablespoon chopped cilantro

1/4 teaspoon salt

Lim-a Sour Cream Goodness

1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt or fat free sour cream

1 teaspoon fresh lime zest

1 teaspoon lime juice

1 tsp of sugar or calorie free sweetener

1-1/2 teaspoons lime juice

1/2 teaspoon salt

Now, the original recipe says preheat your oven now. But, it’s gonna take a while, so when you are ready (or if your oven takes a decade to preheat) go ahead and put it at 400.

Meanwhile or first, whichever way you need to go here, combine the olive oil, lime juice, hot stuffs, garlic, and salt in a large bowl.

Then, slice the fish into taco-stuffing size strips.  Add the fish to the hot-stuff marinade and then do the hokey-pokey and toss it all around.

Put the fish strips back in the fridge (because it weirds me out to have them sitting there. When I couldn’t get the whole ingredients shot for like 10 minutes because…well anyway, I almost had to let them go back in again before I started cooking. I think you might get amebas on it if it comes to room temperature or something)

Let those fish sticks marinate for 30 minutes.

While they are marinating, go ahead and make your slaw (every time I saw that I say it like a Hulk kind Hey Brother/Slaw thing. I love that word. I will SLAW you brother!)

Like I said, stay focused. Geez! Now,

Chop, Dice, and Wow (that should be a new product, genius) your way to two cups of shredded cabbage. Add your lime juice. Then, dice up your jalapenos. Add some corn and onion. Then add some cilantro (that you didn’t dice worth a crud, apparently). Then, pour in your honey. Stir around.

Now, eat some of that yummy goodness and back in the glory of all that is hot and spicy.

Take your time. I’ll wait, I’ve been there so I understand.

Then, put it in the fridge to chill and break things down and get back together. So, about 30 minutes.

Ok, now lets pretend that took 30 minutes (if it did you have issues I can’t address here) and you are ready to cook your fish.

So, take out the marinated fish sticks and add in your fish fry. Toss to coat.

Place the covered fish sticks on a greased baking sheet (with a raised roasting rack). Spray with some fat-free spray (remind me to write a love song to PAM who makes fried food a healthy possibility, thanks-be). Bake at 400 (forgot about the oven didn’t you. What? I am not projecting. I would never…) for about 7-10 minutes or until the fish is white all the way through.

Do  not over bake these please. Like shrimp, fish = rubber stinky gym socks if over cooked.

While those are cooking, make your sweet-sweet-creamy goodness. Combine the Greek yogurt with the lemon/lime juice and the sugar. Mix well.

Then, we are down to the wire to have it all done at the same time and my first children syndrome is really acting up (this is when my kitchen becomes a mess hella-quick).

Heat a pan or griddle and grill tortillas until they are heated all the way through, have some browning and begin to bubble.

To serve, place your taco wrap/shell on your plate. Add 2 fish sticks, add a heaping tablespoon of slaw, and 2 tsp. of the creamy goodness. Eat up baby cuse these are goods.

**Recipe by AccentHealth Chef Donna Brousseau

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

