Posted by: aauntiem | April 9, 2010

Skinny Smorgasbord

*** Updated with Pictures from the party.

One of the many exhausting, pull your hair out aspects of weight loss is that you have to teach yourself how to re-do everyday things. Basically it’s like a do-over only you have to take your baggage with you.

Some things are easier than others. Drinking more water, for example, or eating more fruit. Those are the elements of the plan that are mentally less challenging for me because I know I have to do them. And, generally speaking, they don’t make me feel deprived. In fact, I feel much better when I do them.

Then, there are things that make want to give up and throw in the towel. These are the things that shake me to the core of my very soul and knock me to the depths of hell. You know, very serious matters, like the unfathomable points in a Chipotle burrito, the points in just one piece of my momma’s dump cake, or say a house party.

The fat kid in me whines at these things.

The fat kid shouts, kicks, and screams like a kid told no in the grocery store:

No one ever has to live like this.

I-t’aint-right.

It-t’aint-natural.

It’s immoral.

It might be illegal.

It is unjust.


I won’t do it.

You can’t make me.

Why am I being punished?

I should be able to eat ANY-THANG! You aren’t the boss of me.

Sometimes these titratantrums result in me proving myself by eating, say a lemon cake. Sometimes I turn into la llorona. Sometimes I wake myself, screaming and falling into a fit of tears because the sour-creamy corn burrito, or the hot and sweet tostada, or the molten lava cake was so real I could taste it. I cry out because it was only a dream.

Mostly, I grab myself and get it together because no one wants to see a puddle of woman on the floor.  I must save myself, you know, for the children (ok, for Luna…whatever).

If I am on my game, which lately I have not been, then AuntieM puts on her super suit and gets to work by making a recipe renovation or coming up with some elaborate scheme to bring a WW dish incognito (don’t tell people is a “skinny” dish cuse they hate it. Tell um you put extra fat, you know, to show your love. They will eat it up and you will lower their cholesterol.)

See, I have been in a bit of rut. Between February of 09’ to July of 09’ I had lost 48 lbs., then I crept back up. Slowly.

For the last two months I have yo-yoed back and forth. Gain some. Lose some.

I feel like taking myself to the side, shaking me a little and yelling “God- Man. Get it Together.”

Let’s face it. I have tried that several time now.

I think it is finally sinking in that I am in the thick of it and this is going to be a life long battle.

My attitude before was that I better get some snacks. Maybe some popcorn. How else was I gonna enjoy the show?

But, this week I have done some soul searching. I have set goals. I have tried to forgive myself, instead of slapping myself.

I am not gonna just snap out of it—if anything, my habits will teach me to snap out of the healthy habits.

Nope, people, I am gonna have to do the heavy lifting here. I can’t just sit on the couch eating popcorn and watch while this happens to me (because it won’t).

So, I better get moving and start living.

I have been dueling myself all week about this party. To be on plan or not be on plan (like it should be an option.); the fundamental question.

I let myself get off plan on Easter. I caved and I can’t blame the dog on that one, I made the dang food.

All week, back and forth.

Then, last night, after getting some real inspiration from a blog I read, I decided to ask myself WWAMD (Would Would AuntieM do?)

AuntieM would have made WW friendly stuff for the party, by god. In fact, in the beginning I did. Jay and I both did. And, we made it through all the summer season, the real holiday season in Florida. We were soaring. We were impressed with ourselves. We were really amazing.

A new member in my meeting yesterday asked me about some tricks. She left telling me I was amazing, even though I confessed that I had not been so awesome lately. She said, “at least your not where I am.”

And, I looked at her, someone that mirrors me in so many ways, and I told her that we were both awesome because no matter what we were doing the damn thang.

So, I am gonna get out of my own way.

I am gonna host a party. Cuse, people do that.

And, I am gonna eat the stuff at my party, like people do.

And, I am gonna be on plan. Cuse, I it’s time to get in the game.

In case you didn’t get that, I *might* be awesome.

Nope, I am awesome.

You are awesome, too. We can be awesome together.

Here is a menu for a Girls Night Party, using things I am serving tonight and some of my old favorites.

Weight Watchers Friendly Girls Night Party Menu


Creamy Fruit Dip (serve with Fruit kebabs—any in season fruit will do. Mine are made with mango, pineapple, black berries, strawberries, and raspberries; 2 fruit kabobs = 1 point)
0 Weight Watcher Points, for 2 tbsp.1 cup(s) fat-free sour cream
8 oz Del Monte Crushed Pineapple In Its Own Juice
1 tsp almond extract, Or coconut
1 1/3 oz fat-free sugar-free instant vanilla pudding mix, one dry packet

Place your sour cream in a bowl. Mix in undrained pineapple and extract. Fold in unmade dry pudding mix. Chill for at least 1 hour before serving.

Tuna Fish Tea Sandwiches
3 Weight Watcher Points for 4 pieces

4 cup(s) water-packed tuna fish, drained
4 small apple(s)
1 cup(s) sweet pickle relish
2 1/2 cup(s) fat-free mayonnaise
48 slice(s) Weight Watchers 100% Whole Wheat Bread

Drain tuna and fork it to be very fine. Add chopped apple, relish, salt and pepper to taste. Stir in mayo. Chill for at least an hour. Then, Spread chilled mixture evenly on 1 side each of 24 bread slices; top with remaining 24 bread slices. Remove crusts; cut each sandwich into 4 rectangles with a serrated knife.

Bacon Wrapped Figs (courtesy of Lady Jay’s kitchen)
3 Weight Watcher Points for 2 figs

30 slice(s) Oscar Mayer Cooked Center-Cut Bacon
60 item(s) Majool dried fig(s), pop the pit
60 nut(s) salted almonds, Roasted
8 oz 1/3 less-fat cream cheese

Prep everything here. This is gonna get real sticky. You will be like pooh stuck knee deep in honey. Cut your cream cheese into little cubes. Cut your bacon, in the package, straight down the middle. Open your bacon package. Open nut.

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Pop the pit of your fig, leaving the whole. Insert an almond in each fig pocket and a dab of cream cheese (less than a teaspoon). Wrap each fig with a piece of bacon, making sure to wrap around the whole, arrange the figs on a roasting pan (so they don’t sit in their goo) sheet, and bake till the bacon is crisp on all sides, about 10 minutes.

*** Pictures on step-by-step recipe page***

Spinach Dip (served with low fat crackers, like melba toast)
1 Point, makes about 30 servings1 package  Knorr Vegetable Soup Dry Mix
10 oz chopped frozen spinach
5 oz water chestnuts
1 cup(s) reduced-calorie mayonnaise
16 oz fat-free sour cream

Combine ingredients and chill for at least two hours.

Curried Chicken Salad Tea Sandwiches
3 Weight Watcher Points for four pieces4 cup(s) cooked chicken breast
1 cup(s) dried cranberries
1/2 cup(s) packaged shredded coconut
1 cup(s) Dole Green Onions, minced, about 6 green onions
2 1/4 oz sliced almonds
1 Tbsp curry powder
48 slice(s) Weight Watchers 100% Whole Wheat Bread, or other bread that gives 2 pieces for 1 point
24 oz fat-free cream cheese

Stir together chicken, cranberries, coconut, onion, almonds, cream cheese, and curry powder. Spread mixture evenly on 1 side each of 24 bread slices; top with remaining 24 bread slices. Remove crusts; cut each sandwich into 4 rectangles with a serrated knife.

Go to the recipe card page to see these previous recipes:

Lemonade, 0 pts.

Apple, Bacon, Walnut Salad (regularly a meal where serving = 4 cups.), 1 cup = 1.5 pts.

Raw Veggie Platter with Dill Dip 0 pts.

Cherry Bars

Grand Total: 11.5 Weight Watcher Points for Some of Everything

  • 1.5 pts for 1 cup of Apple, Bacon, Walnut Salad
  • 3 points for 2 curried chicken sandwich pieces and 2 tuna sandwich pieces
  • 1 pts for 2 fruit skewers with 2 tbsp. of dip
  • 2 points for 1 serving of spinach dip with four melba toast crackers
  • 3 pts for 2 Bacon Wrapped Figs
  • 1 pts for 1 Cherry Bar
  • 0 pts. 1 cup of Lemonade
  • 0 pts. For 1 cup veggies and 2 tbs. of dip

Now, I am not saying that someone needs to eat some of everything (if you want too, you can, I won’t judge. Or, if we are saying No, more power to you). But, as a gal that likes to keep her options open, I think it is nice to know that I could eat a serving of everything and get out of there for under 12 points.

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

