Posted by: aauntiem | April 2, 2010

A Lion That Thought It was a Lamb, and Other Easter Menu Ordeals

(Twilight reference anyone?)

But, the real fun comes from Sunday. Picasso and I are hosting Easter Breakfast.

I spent hours last night reviewing, planning, and getting excited about a light and springy Easter breakfast. The problem with this menu (that included among other things some tea sandwiches, shrimp skewers, lemonade, blueberry and lemon tea, a raw vegetable and cheese tray, mini tarts, and honey ham) was that it made with the idea that a. people eat vegetables, b. people eat vegetables.

Don’t get me wrong, I saw the problem with the first menu immediately because it was made with Auntie M and Sissy in mind. Picasso and my brother, who eats slightly more than 4 things, would be left with ham and shrimp.

My father, a human garbage disposal, eats anything. He likes fancy meals, even if he doesn’t admit it, and would have been thrilled. My sister’s boyfriend enjoys salad; he would have been fine. My brother’s girlfriend is a nice enough guest to try most things anyway.

But, I made two other menus. This menu was a Picasso centric menu, which really everyone in my family likes. This is the menu that everyone in my family expects a variation of on any given holiday.

The third was trying to be a little of both Menu #1 and Menu #2. It included southern eggs Benedict, beef tenderloin, roasted potatoes, and a baked French Toast casserole.

My mother came over to go grocery shopping with me. We discussed the menu. She pointed out that Menu #1 was not for our kind of people.

I was hurt.

I felt betrayed.

I cried out to the heavens that somehow I had morphed and was no longer my own people. (Wait? If I am not my people, why am I not already a skinny people person like the kind that prefers carrots to the taste of a doughnut?)

Oh—the torture.

Now. I am people-less.

Are you my people (blink, blink)?

I recovered myself and yelled at Picasso to shut up (tongue out) as he was making jokes about kitchen turf wars.

My mother tried to reason with me. “Let’s have some of Menu #1 and Menu # 2” she offered as an olive branch.

But, this year it will be breakfast as usual on Sunday at AuntieM’s (almost). I am gonna make cinnamon rolls and Apple Raisin Bread from scratch (not usual) and couple it with cheesy hashbrown casserole, ham, and fruit citrus salad.

The cinnamon roll recipe is Pioneer Woman’s.   They are 5 points a roll.

Here is my recipe for Apple Raisin Monkey Bread. Let’s try it together; I modified it from a much higher fat version from Pillsbury.com and I am making it for the first time this weekend.

Apple Raisin Monkey Bread
3 Weight Watcher Points, serves 10

2 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 large apple(s)
80 second spray(s) PAM Cooking Spray
12 oz Pillsbury Grands! Flaky Buttermilk Biscuits
10 tsp Weight Watchers Reduced Fat Whipped Cream Cheese Spread
1/3 cup(s) raisins
1/2 cup(s) McNeil Nutritionals SPLENDA No Calorie Sweetener

Heat oven to 400F. Generously grease 8×4-inch loaf pan (do not use dark-coated pan).
In small bowl, combine splenda and cinnamon; mix well.
Separate dough into 10 biscuits; cut each into quarters.
Spray each quater with cooking spray then roll dough, then apples, in sugar-cinnamon mixture. Arrange in layers, with apples and raisins mixed in, on greased loaf pan.

Bake at 400F for 19 to 27 minutes. Cool about 5 minutes. Knife the edge and remove from pan. Serve.

Here is my mother’s Cheesy Hashbrown Casserole (from what I gather via oral tradition). It serves about 10 and is 8 points a serving (guess what I am making and not eating):

1 Bag of Frozen Hashbrowns

Cream of Chicken Soup

1 stick of melted butter

1 small container of sour cream

2 cups of cheese

Take your butter and melt it. Break up your frozen hasbrowns to be loose.  In a bowl mix soup, sour cream, melted butter, and half the cheese, and salt and pepper (to taste). Stir in hashbrowns. Spray a casserole dish with fat free cooking spray. Pour mixture into casserole dish. Level out. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. Take out and put one cup of cheese on top, bake for another 15 minutes.

I am also gonna be a rebel and add my southwest frittata. So, I will eat Monkey Bread and Frittata and Fruit.

Here are the recipes.

Apple Raisin Monkey Bread

Hashbrown Casserole

Desperately seeking me people,

Auntie M

Responses

  1. I could be your people…Menu #1 sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

