Posted by: aauntiem | April 2, 2010

Pineapple Upside Down Flop

I am back, after a small incident with lemon cake and an unsubstantiated rumor of a sausage biscuit, and a ready to go.

My sissy is coming in to town for her birthday and Easter. Tomorrow the fam is going boating and hosting a BBQ on the river for Beth’s birthday. I am bringing the veggie and fruit kabobs.

I am also responsible for the pineapple upside down cake (my sister’s favorite and one of my mom’s go-to cakes) on Saturday evening.

This is the only from scratch cake I can’t make, no matter how hard I try. See, the thing is, I mess up boxed cakes almost universally unless I modify them (take Jay’s cake that I made simply following the directions vs. the lemon one that I modified). I also almost never mess up a homemade recipe.

I don’t know why things work this way. It’s like asking why the sky is blue—it isn’t really except that it is. But, it isn’t. But, it is. But, it isn’t. But, it is. Even though it is not.

That why you just don’t ask.

So, stop asking so many questions.

I am going to have to make my own dough for the rest of my life.

This weekend I am using my mother’s recipe, which isn’t a recipe at all. She ALWAYS cooks without a recipe and puts some of this or that. It is impossible to follow. Plus, when you ask for it she doesn’t write it down, instead she just rattles it off. “Put some butter in the pan. Melt it. Add brown sugar.” “How much mom?” “Just Some butter, until it looks right.”

Someday I will be awesome enough to do this to some newbie. It will be my crowning moment of glory.

Someday.

In the meantime, I will let you know if I crash and the cake burns for my sister’s birthday. If it works, I will post my mother’s recipe next week.

This is one attempt at the cake (you wanna clean that up don’t you?)

This is what it should look like.

If at first you don’t succeed…

My mom’s recipe includes:

1 10 in. cast iron skillet

Some melted butter (how much mom?), I am gonna go with a stick.

Brown Sugar (how much mom? Until it look s right). I am gonna start with 1/3 cup.

Pecans (till it is pretty covered on the bottom)

Pineapple slices (till it is pretty on the bottom)

Maraschino Cherries (inside every pineapple slice).

Yellow Cake Mix Box (switch to 4 eggs instead of 3, add all the pineapple juice from your canned slices instead of the water and then some some butter milk to complete, the prepare batter as instructed).

Make your cake batter by pouring mix into large mixing bowl. Add eggs, butter milk and oil. Mix until blended. Add pineapple juice. Beat for about 30 seconds to one minute more. Set aside.

Melt and Brown butter on medium high in cast iron skillet. Remove from heat.

Stir in brown sugar. Return to heat, reducing to low or medium low, and let brown sugar simmer.

It should get all melty and thick (not smoky) and it will take awhile. Do not ever let the brown sugar burn (I know from experience it = very bad).

Add pecans, pineapple, cherries. Remove from heat.

Pour in about half the batter (wish me luck, it is not from scratch so maybe I won’t fail). Bake at 375 for about 20-25 minutes.

Remove. Then invert the cake (you know by putting a plate or a cake plate upside on top of skillet and then gently flipping the whole thing…very complicated stuff here people. Watch it, ‘cuse its all still hot). Then, pray you didn’t mess it up, like I have every dang time.

I will post pictures of my millionth attempt next week.

Auntie M

Leave a Reply

Categories

