Posted by: aauntiem | March 30, 2010

Mud Walk and Weiners

First, I am having a horrible rotten no go very bad week–even in Australia–and have not had time to post. Sometime, if I can step away from the confetti cake, I will tell you all about it.

Second, a shout out to Jay who is now my roller-derby queen. I have black and blue body parts for you, dear.

Back to regularly scheduled blogging.

*********************************************************************************************************************************

We went for our hike on Sunday. I use the term hike very loosely.

See, it rains all the time now. It never used to rain in Winter. That leaves the trails thick and narrow in some spots.

Well, a lot of spots actually.

Rain + Low Lying Land = Mud Walk + Mosquitos

My weeny didn’t wimp out.

She charged right through the water.

See how she looks at me. Its like she is disappointed that I don’t have her hound instincts.

She charged ahead. She made the trail. She was the happiest weeny ever.

Meanwhile…

I was trepidacious. I hate wet feet. My shoes have breathing mesh holey thingies. These are important, special, came-with-me-to- Ghana shoes.

Did I mention I hate wet feet? But, Picasso and Luna just charged ahead…as you can see by the photography and my emphasis on behind the scenes.

About2 1/2 miles in and really wet feet later it got really bad. I had to ditch my socks and go wet shoe style.

On the way back, about 1 mile to the trail head, I got desperate. I went wild. I charged through the mud, weeny style.

I would show them.

I could be fearless.

I can do things.

Even the weeny would not follow me lead and stayed back with Picasso.

Look who is the weeny now! Ha.

Wait? What?

I might have had to take off my shoes. It might have had a bleeding, oozing blister. I might have hobbled. I might have cried for my mommy and shrieked from the terror of having amoeba water soaking into my ankle.

There were some moments when Picasso and Luna needed to just go on without me (and they did). It was traumatic. I walked through a muddy cesspool into a winding rocky pathway and then into the sandy pits of hell.

I am resolved to get new shoes. Waterproof shoes.

Luna doesn’t care. She already has organic digs.

In the bathtub on Sunday, wincing as I pored hydrogen peroxide on my amoeba infested ankle, I swear I could hear her cackle.

In honor of the take no prisoners/weeny spirit I give you the food of my youth, slimmed down and trimmed up. I ate these Sunday, after surviving the jungles of my Florida backyard.

After eating dogs, I napped on the couch and avoided grading student papers.

Small victories, people.

Pigs in a Blanket Serves 8

3 Weight Watchers Points

8 98% fat free hot dogs

1 can of reduced fat crescent rolls

fat free cooking spray

Heat oven to 375°F. Spray a baking sheet with non-fat cooking spray.

Separate dough into triangles. Wrap a dough triangle around each hot dog. Place on baking sheet. Lightly spray the pigs-in-a-blanket with cooking spray.

Bake at 375°F for about 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve with ketchup and mustard, mixed (‘cuse it is the best way), and some of lemonade. You might even trick yourself into believing it is summer or something.

Here is the recipe.

To better weeks and dry feet,

Auntie M

Responses

  1. I don’t know how this affects the points (I don’t know how weight watchers works), but if you sub veggie hot dogs (I like Yves The Good Dog), your meal is vegan. I eat them all the time.

  2. […]  Pigs in a Blanket, Sweet Potato Fries, and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

