Posted by: aauntiem | March 26, 2010

Scrambled

I never learned to skate. In fact, I have night mares about middle and high school youth group social outings to the roller rink that involved a bad perm, huge glasses, and a very chubby me falling and tripping and stumbling in front of everyone I knew. They were lock-ins (god help us all escape the memories) so the torture just kept on coming.

I shudder now at the thought. What a torturous thing to do to any fat clumsy girlchild.

I blame my mom for the hair and for letting me go to lock-in skate-ins—even if I wanted and pleaded for both. She is my mother and should have known what was best for me, even if I did not listen.

The screaming kind of night terrors, with roller skate wheels that just keep spinning, ugly carpet and bad hairband music, and the creak-creak-creak of a hotdog spit slowly making its way around, blistering the dogs.

My best friend Jay, obviously either 2) slipped into a delusion episode where she imagined herself as a kind of trauma therapist or b) is entirely selfish when on Sunday took me on a super-top-secret exercise event that turned out to be a roller skating extravaganza.

My vote is that she might be a little of both.

Really she isn’t evil, only slightly insane, which I prefer, and she was just trying to get some practice time in before Derby tryouts on Sunday (luck Jay!).

Never the less, I tried to plead with her. I begged even. My face filled with sheer panic. My ears rand with the whooshing wheels and creaky hot dog spits. It wasn’t pretty.

I lost.

She always wins.

Ask anyone.

Needless to say, for the next hour of my life I hugged the wall-bar and dragged myself, one legged leper style, around the rink to the sound of teeny-boopedy music and the fear that I might be trampled to death by small rocket children.

About a half hour in I let the Carrie-trauma of my youth inch away from me for a moment and became somewhat stubbornly determined to figure out how to skate—even if it killed me.

By the end, even though I wasn’t like speed racer or anything, I wanted to shout from the rooftops: I am not josey-grossey anymore.

A Few Facts:

I did not fall.

I earned more than seven activity points in less than one hour of skating.

My right arm got a full-body workout.

I can only lift my left leg. A right leg lift = stumble.

Yesterday we went again. Only, this time we had to drive to a little teeny town about 45 minutes away because it is the only place that has a free-skate mid week.

This place had no bar, no cushy wall, and an outside track. There were two people working there and about four patrons.

A Few Facts:

I fell. Hard. On Concrete.

I might have cried.

I earned one million activity points.

I got up again after falling.

My knees and part of my calves are purple.

I have bruises up my arm.

I am going again on Saturday.

I love my best friend and offered to hit her, you know… for derby practice.

In honor my scrambled body, I give you… my southwest frittata recipe. I made it on Sunday before our hike. I bet you can guess that Picasso didn’t eat it.

Southwest Frittata                                Serves 4
3 Weight Watchers Points

3 large egg(s)
1/4 cup(s) Eggs Whites
1/3 cup(s) shredded Parmesan cheese
7-10 small cherry tomato(es)
4-5 chopped ornamental peppers
1/2 cup(s) onion(s)
1/2 cup(s) canned yellow corn
1 tsp olive oil

Fresh cilantro to taste

Optional:

1 dash of sea salt

1 dash of pepper

1 dash of hot sauce

What is up with that spot on my onion?

Prep your ingredients: Dice your peppers and onions.

Heat up a cast iron skillet (or a pan/casserole dish that can go from stove top to oven) to medium heat. Add in a teaspoon of oil. Let the oil heat.

Next, add your diced veggies and corn to the skillet. Add fresh cilantro (and basil or other herbs to taste if you have them). Sauté.

Meanwhile, add your eggs, eggs whites, and cheese to a small bowl.

Add a dash of sea salt, cayenne pepper, hot sauce, and paprika.

Whisk until mixed.

Once your onions are cooked, go ahead and pour in your egg mixture.

Turn your skillet down to low and cook until set. About 8 minutes or until firm.

Transfer skillet to the oven. Broil frittata on high for about 3 minutes, watching to make sure it doesn’t not burn. Cut into four pieces and serve.

Doesn’t it look so yummy? I am so hungry right now…

For Picasso’s dish check out Pioneer Woman’s Post about steak tips  and follow her directions using my substitutions:

Steak Tips                Serves 4

4 Weight Watchers Points

1 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
3/4 pound(s)trimmed flank steak (made with trimmed sirloin makes it 5 points)

But basically,

Trim and cube the meat (Picasso did not get all the fat off here…see that)

Get your pan really hot. Add in the butter and let it brown. Then add your steak.

Flip after almost a minute. Wait another minute. Serve.

Enjoy your weekend eats.

AuntieM

Responses

  1. First, I love this story. I loved roller skating when I was a kid (never tried roller blading or ice skating) but I still think I’d have a reallllly hard time giving it a try today.

    Second, that frittata is SO up my alley, I’ll definitely be giving that a try soon. Been on a huge cherry tomato kick. Strangely enough I’ve never gotten comfortable cooking with eggs other than in baking or hard boiling them. Never even made scrambled eggs. But I think I can handle this recipe.

    • If I can make it, you can make it. Play with the veggies and get a different flavor every time. Tackle eggs. I have faith you can master them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

