Posted by: aauntiem | March 25, 2010

Tijuana Making Me Crazy Beef Tostadas

We have a restaurant here in Florida that makes me never want to eat healthy again.

The sweet tea, one of my fondest and oldest loves, comes in a giant container filled with the best chipped ice around. I triple dare you to find one better.

They serve guac, salsa, and cheese sauce. They have fresh jalapenos. Everything is crispy goodness.

Just look at it.

I could eat the chimmy right now.

They have an entire hot sauce bar. This one sweet and tangy sauce in particular makes me want to sing.

So, what is a girl like me to do about this awesome Tijuana-goodness-craving?

See the thing is:

Sometimes I wake up at night, crying in my sleep and mumbling something about pork tostadas and chips and salsa.

Sometimes for no reason, my car drives in a Tijuana direction.

Sometimes, Picasso wants to trade in for a new wife that doesn’t love Americanized Mexican food because he doesn’t like the place and I always-always-always want to go there.

Somebody give this girl a pile of nachos you say. Go and eat some you say, and throw it all to hell because someone this deranged can’t be reasoned with? You want to come to you say.

See how easy it is to fall into a trap.

Tijuana, why do you torture me so?

That is, until I went into recipe builder and made my own recipe for tostadas and I figured out that I can replicate that yummy goodness at home (sand my favorite hot sauce).

It makes me happy. It makes my soul hurt a little less for the finer things in life.

I shared this happiness with my Mom on Monday when she came over for dinner. I switched up the menu plan for this week. I do that sometimes. I am a wild woman. Barely contained.

So, here is how you make weight watcher friendly Beef Tostadas at home (if you are feeling daring run by Tijuana and grab a side of hot sauce to go. But only if you can handle it). Then swing by my house, where you never know what might be going on. Wild.

Beef Tostadas Serves 1

6 Weight Watchers Points

1/4 cup(s) Reduced Fat Shredded Mexican-Style Cheese
3 oz cooked extra lean taco seasoned ground beef
1/4 cup(s) lettuce
1/4 cup(s) diced tomato(es)
1/8 cup(s) canned jalapeno peppers
2 item(s) tostada shell(s)
2 Tbsp Old El Paso Fat-Free Refried Beans
1 Tbsp Breakstone’s Fat-Free Sour Cream

2 tsp taco sauce or hot sauce

As seems to be my rule when I am actually showing you how to make something, I have forgotten a crucial ingredient in this picture. Let’s play I spy. I spy something missing…

Heat up a frying pan to medium high. Add beef and mash (?) into small pieces.

Cook for about 5-7 minutes. Stir. Continue to cook until meat is browned and no longer pink, another 5 minutes longer.

Meanwhile, heat up the re-fried beans on low heat.

Next, add in taco seasoning and water according to package directions.

Do the hookie-pookie and stir it all around.

Once it is good and saucy, put the beef aside.

Now, preheat an electric skillet to ultra hot and coast the skillet with fat free cooking spray. You want it at like 450° to 500°. If you don’t have one of these than a frying pan with a lid will do, although my mother would be disappointed. She cooks most things in one of these. In my house, an electric skillet = Holy Grail.

Now, while that heats up create a tostada prepping station. Keep this very clean. You have a lot going on here. See…even I managed to not make a mess.

Whatever, just do as I say.

On your prepping station, go ahead and lay out two tostadas for every person you are serving.

Again, do as I say. I am serving everyone three tostadas for 8 points (just add another shell, make it ¼ cup Old El Paso Fat-Free Refried Beans and 2 Tbsp Breakstone’s Fat-Free Sour Cream). Next, divide the refried beans in half. Place half the beans on one tostada and spread evenly. Repeat with other half.

Measure out your Beef.

Divide beef between two. Spoon on your beef and add half the cheese to each.

Why do I look pregnant here? Why?

Add them to your super hot electric skillet.

Place the lid on the skillet and let them get nice and toasty.

You want to leave them in until your cheese is nice and melty.

Meanwhile get your toppings portioned out. Once the cheese is ready, place um on a plate and load up with your toppings.

Now, who says you can’t eat well at home?

Here is the recipe.

Happy Almost Friday,

Auntie M

Responses

  1. Get a bottle of your favorite sauce right here: http://hotfoods.tijuanaflats.com/

    You can thank me later.

    • Where have you been all of my life?


Leave a Reply

Categories

