Posted by: aauntiem | March 22, 2010

Shrink Wrap

I may or may not have had a breakdown on Thursday evening when I realized that after hardcore getting physical and surviving on rabbit food that I gained almost 2 pounds (shocking, I know… I know).

So, I had a come-to-Jesus (read WW meeting leader) moment. I had a tantrum, why is life so mean to me moment. I had a huffy pout after that. Then, I may come home and had an extra meatball or two in my spaghetti at dinner. Theoretically. This, hypothetically speaking of course, made me very angry at myself on Friday when I had to count those points–hypothetically.

This episode (as I am calling it) caused me to go into super-nerd mode on Friday’s lunch break. This, by the by, answers my father’s question: what are you going to do with an English degree (nope, not really anything but learn to extensively research how to make my butt smaller dad, aren’t you so proud?)

First, I thought back over the last two weeks and realized (duh, you might add) that with all this increase in activity I need to eat more because I am HUNGRY. Also, I have to rethink how I eat. At this point I do eat healthy foods, for the most part, but many of them are not using the best allocation of points.

So, literally, I went to the basics.

Did I ever mention that somehow I missed the whole math/food basics lesson?

But, I must do this because I am misallocating vital points here people. And, I am HUNGRY!

Well crap. I have reached the Emperor’s Tomb and Indiana and I are stuck between a rock and some spikes.

Fundamental Truths:

  1. I will always enjoy beef based dishes during my week and cinnamon rolls on Saturdays.
  2. Picasso still eats four things. Period.
  3. I don’t want to just eat the uber-healthy stuff. It goes against everything my soul believes in.
  4. I can’t continue to live off of carrots and starve to death. (Maybe I could. But I won’t people. I have limits).
  5. I have to re-learn, again (does this ever end), how to eat satisfying foods that are good for me.

I went on  pilgrimage. I searched far and wide. I got mad at Weight Watchers online for telling me stupid things I already knew. I researched again, calculating product points and reading articles about what healthy people say to eat in a day; then I recalculated some more points. I read a little WW cookbook called “Quick and Easy Entertaining.” I wasn’t mad at them anymore.

The end result:

Lots of zero point recipe thingy-ies added to what you already eat = happiness

This weekend I ate:

jam packed (with cinnamon rolls, thank you) breakfasts.

Super BIG and filling lunches.

Protein + fruit + other good stuff snacks.

Homemade Pioneer Woman inspired pizza.

I rocked burgers with incredible zero-point sides.

I am on FIRE food and was not hungry

Another end result:

You benefit from my epiphany. You are welcome.

Like usual, I will post the weekly menu here.

Saturday

Breakfast: Cinnamon Rolls, turkey sausage, fruit salad

Dinner:  Bison Burgers, Colorful Roasted Potatoes, Grilled Veggie Kabobs with Yogurt Dipping Sauce, Stuffed Mushrooms, Pear-Berry Tart

Sunday

Breakfast: Hashbrowns, steak tips, Frittata

Dinner:  Homemade Pepperoni and Sausage Veggie pizza

Monday

BBQ chicken, Grilled Pineapple and Peppers, Roasted Potatoes, Green Beans

Tuesday

Picasso makes for himself

Wednesday (REDO from last week)

Oven Fried Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, Peas, Roasted Carrots

Thursday

Sesame Chicken and veggie noodle Stir Fry

Friday

Beef Tostadas, loaded with veggies and zero point happiness

Plus, a strong lunch of:

  1. Pita (with capers, lettuce, cream cheese, smoked salmon, tomato, and onion) and zero point soup and tangerine  OR
  2. Tuna, crackers, salad, and soup, tangerine
  3. WITH
  • Carrots, apple, and PB
  • Yogurt, dried fruit, strawberries, muffin top
  • turkey and string cheese lettuce roll-ups
  • Popcorn—cinnamon, splenda, nutmeg or cheese powder

This weekend was filled with yum-yums. Recipes are a comin.

In the mean time, I thought you might need this though…it is Monday after all.

Auntie M


Leave a Reply

Categories

