Posted by: aauntiem | March 11, 2010

Beef Hash

On Monday, I skipped my usual night to cook (we take turns in the kitchen)  and let Picasso fend for himself (which usually means he goes and gets either a. steak’n’shake chili or b. he buys and grills a steak). Monday it was Picasso bachelor night option B (and boy did the house smell de-li-cious when I came home. I was like a blood hound sniffing around that kitchen).

Instead of cooking, I went out to dinner with some friends. A friend from long ago was unexpectantly in town and I met up with the girls for dinner (you can imagine how good it smelled since I had a kid’s chicken sandwich-plain and broccoli with no butter—so boring and devoid of all eatingoutness).

That meant that Tuesday night I made the meal scheduled for Monday and we have been running a day behind ever since. I did, however, make an executive decision last night to toss spaghetti this week as it is not my favorite (and I have to make a separate sauce for Picasso. You won’t believe this, really. No really, are you sure you want to know? He eats his “spaghetti,” if you can even call it that, with 2 cans of brand-specific tomato paste, 1 cup of water, and Italian seasoning. I actually winced typing that. I am sorry that you had to hear about the horrors that occur repeatedly in my kitchen, on purpose even. I will try not to do it again.)

Back to happier and less frightening thins, like Beef Hash. I found the original recipe for potatoes and flank-steak hash on the Weight Watchers website and then went on the Weight Watchers’ Recipe Builder and modified the heck out of it by adding different sauce, different potatoes, and excluding things that are Picasso sensitive.

Picasso and Jay both liked the dish a-lot. I thought it was decent but the next time I make it I will make Picasso’s first, portion out half (so he can have lunch or leftovers and what not) and then add diced peppers, onions, mushrooms, corn, (this would increase the points value by 1, I checked) and jalapenos (oh-yum). Then, people, it would be an out of this world spicy-dinner-hash. Serve it with a vegetable, salad, or alone. I served it with steamed broccoli and carrots.

Beef Hash Serves: 6

5  Weight Watchers Points

Ingredients

several spray(s) olive oil cooking spray

1 1/2 Tbsp Extra virgin olive oil or use Fat free chicken broth to cook your potatoes

1 bag of simply potatoes shredded hashbrowns

12 oz cooked beef flank steak, cooked lean flan steak, sliced and cut into 1- to

1 Tbsp dried parsley

2 tbsp. Roasted Paprika

1 tsp ground thyme

1 tsp table seasoned salt

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp A1 Original

5 tsp Glory Louisiana style hot sauce

1 Tbsp butter

Load it up with mushrooms, jalapenos, corn (remember to add 1 point), peppers, and onions. Unless you have a Picasso too, then you can dream about hash with jalapenos, corn, peppers, and onions.

Now, lets get started.

Grab a refreshing beverage for the long-haul.

I always need a diet coke (I could write poetry about my love for this really-bad-for-me beverage). I will deal with that issue at a later date. One issue at a time people.

Now, Directions.

Cook your steak. To cook a 1-inch-thick flank steak, coat a frying pan or broiler pan with cooking spray. Preheat pan or broiler (with prepared broiler pan in broiler) to high heat—you want to it to be really hot so that it sears the steak, browning the outside and keeping it juicy-juicy on the inside. Rub both sides of steak with a smashed garlic clove, 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil, sea salt and crushed pepper;discard garlic. Cook meat, turning ONLY once, about 4 minute per side.

Pop-Up Video Fact: I made Picasso cook this while I was driving home from work because I needed dinner started. I was hungry. I caught this picture on the tail end. He is just off to the side, swatting at me to get out of his kitchen with the camera. I ignored him, like I do.

Remove steak to cutting board. Let it sit. You must allow steak to rest for 10 minutes before slicing or it will not be good.

People always complain about flank steak but it is good if you are patient enough to let it rest, which he did not as you can see in this photo (weird how it looks like he is slicing his finger. look at it. weird.). Set a timer and clean up your messy kitchen while you let it rest, do crunches or jump rope BUT don’t cut that steak until it has had a chance to rest.

Then, measure it out.

You need 12 oz. of cooked steak.

Put portioned steak away. Hide the rest.

Next, Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and place over medium heat. Or, just drain, rinse, and dry the pan from the steak (like I did).

When hot, add 1 tbsp oil to skillet or add the chicken broth.

When oil is heated, add potatoes. Sprinkle them with paprika (any will do, I love-love roasted. It makes it smoky!)  and seasoned salt.

Now, if you are using diced potatoes of any kind you need to stir them really often to make sure they don’t becomes glued to the bottom of the pan. If you are using shredded potatoes, mush them all out into one big potato pancake and let them brown all the way on one side (5-8 minutes).

Then flip them all at once and brown again, (5-8 minutes).

Let them just rest there. Really.

Once browned, move to a separate plate.

Back in the skillet, brown your butter. Add  parsley, thyme, salt, pepper, Worcestershire, A1, and hot sauce.

Then, add back in steak and hashbrowns.

Coat well.

Cook until heated through, about 2 minutes more. Makes about 1 cup per serving of just meat and potatoes, it would be more with all those yummy additions—just remember it serves 6.

Notes:

* If you don’t  have a bag of already diced/shredded potatoes or you just aren’t into buying bagged, then: scrub about 6 medium white potatoes or enough red potatoes to get seven cups diced); then, poke holes all the way around the potato with a fork; microwave them on high for about 8-9 minutes or until soft OR bake them in the oven on 375° for amount 45-50 minutes or until soft; let them cool for about 5 minutes and then dice them on a cutting board); you need seven cups of diced potatoes).

Here is the recipe.

Feeding my delusions that one day I can add greens to my dishes,

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

