Posted by: aauntiem | March 11, 2010

A Game of Chicken…

A Game of Chicken, Homemade BBQ Sauce, and Roasted Potatoes. Or, other things you forget when exercise makes you a hunger monster.

5:15 a.m. Alarm starts making that awful, want-to-craw-up-and-die-just-to make-it-stop noise.

5:25 a.m. Repeat of above.

5:28 a.m. Muster the strength and determination to get up from my snuggly bed.

5:30 a.m. Take Luna out to potty (aka: Looney Tunes or Tunes for short).


She only looks helpless. At 5:30 she takes her sweet time going to the bathroom, sniffs everything, and tries to run away. I hate morning people.

5:40 a.m. Thanks to the heavens for an automatic coffee pot.

5:45 a.m. TiVoed Yoga stretches. Advanced kids. Advanced. Most of my body parts don’t move that way.

6:00 a.m. TiVoed Gilad total body workout.

All right. I can do this…

…and then, the abs came.

I mean look at this guy.

I did them. But,

it really-really makes me hate him (and love him, almost).

6:30 a.m. Ran around like a chicken with my head cut off.

7:30 a.m. Commute.

8:00-noon. Lunch while reading blogs. Feel supper motivated and pumped. Take 45 minute Walk with Jay.

1:00-5:00 p.m. Hungry, hungry, hippo. Pickle, carrots, squash, fruit cup, grapes. Num-num-num. GEEZ! All this working out makes me starving.

5:35 p.m. Walk in house expecting dinner on the table, as if Picasso doesn’t work or I am cross-dressing in a Leave It to Beaver episode. So…. cranky then?

6:25 p.m. With all the sides almost ready we played a game of “Where is the Chicken” (haven’t ever played this game? Why on earth wouldn’t you? It is so much fun)? What you didn’t get chicken? No, I didn’t. Blank look meets blank look. It was on the list… But, I thought you…Game over.

6:30 Driving to the super-mega center up the street.

7:30 Finally, Finally, Finally eat dinner.

Yesterday  made me realize some things:

I have this awful habit of falling into the doldrums. One of the habits I let myself slide into is inactivity. Over the summer, when the dollars were really tight and we weren’t sure when (or sometimes IF) Picasso would find a job I let my membership to a cross-fit gladiator style gym go ($80 a month —YIKES, it was one of the most expensive things we paid for). When I started at the gym, I needed it. These people work with you one-on-one and really work you beyond what you think is ever possible.

I actually believed that I was motivated enough, had learned enough, etc. to keep up on my own.

Reality check, one-two. The doldrums set in. I got lax on exercise. Lax on my portions. Then, lax on my foods.

I gained weight back and forth for several months. I folded under my own pressure, people. It was ugly and narrow in some places (don’t judge, sometimes it gets scary over here).

This week is the first week that I have actually been doing both aspects of the plan. I have always had a knack for portions and food (I mean I just turn the fat kid loose in a different direction). It is the exercise that kills my soul (and sometimes applesauce dough toffee bars). But, I must put those thoughts away—I will…I mean I do… I do! want to am gonna climb walls, jump rope like they do at punk rope, do a crazy-mad number of push-ups, and be strong.

This is week one of back to “living solid” and all I have to say is Never Never Never play a game of chicken with mad-eye-moody-hungrrr-woman.

As for the recipe, I suggest you check to make sure you have some chicken, tofu, something-something to drizzle with the sauce before we get knee-deep in ketchup and have to go to Walmart.

Homemade Sweet BBQ Sauce Serves:  8 @ 2 tbsp. of sauce

1 Weight Watchers Points

Ingredients

½ cup ketchup

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp vinegar

¼ cup unpacked brown sugar

¼ honey

¼ mustard

*You can add seasoning here to make it hot and spicy like cayenne pepper or chipotle.

Notice I forgot the ketchup and mustard. Ignore this.


And, the ketchup and mustard are back. Now, ignore the smear marks on my stove-top that I obviously should have polished before letting you see. Eyes ahead. Focus on the sauce.

**Note to self:

Kitchen clean up is easier when you pre-measure (see above) and you make less of a mess. Never forget to do this or become so lazy that you go back to the chaos. Lest this happens again,

Directions

Pour all the ingredients into a pot over medium to medium high heat.


Keep pouring.


Keep pouring. Almost Done.

Stir.


Allow all the yummy condiments to meld and mix together and start to bubble.

A-N-D Ta-dah. Homemade sauce in minutes. Now, just, portion and serve.

Roasted Potatoes Serves:  2 @ 1 cup of potatoes

2 Weight Watchers Points

450° for 30 minutes or until browned on the outside and soft in the center

Ingredients

2 cups of diced white or sweet potatoes, raw

1 tsp. olive oil

Seasoning: Paprika (go crazy), white pepper (lightly dust), crushed red pepper (lightly dust, no really), sea salt (you decide), a pinch of cayenne.

There are a lot of ways you can go here, people. In the mood for spicy, see below. Want a Dijon and dill version. How about oregano, parsley, basil, sea salt, pepper, and garlic? Or, paprika and seasoned salt. Plain with some light sea-salt and crushed pepper. Why not? Anything goes here. Well, mostly.

Directions

Wash your potatoes. Peel or not (we peel in mine because you-know-who won’t eat them with the skin on). Dice. Place your diced potatoes in a bowl or a baggie (shake-n-bake style). Pour on your oil and season. Shake-um-all-around. They should be red (if using my seasoning style) by now.

Dump onto a really well sprayed baking sheet.


Bake for about 15 minutes. Take out and flip to brown your other side. Return to oven for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and delicious.

Then, eat-um up. In my house we usually don’t even get to put ketchup on them because we Hoover them and burn our tongues like children. They taste like a healthy version of French fries. It doesn’t get any better than that.


Food may not get better than this, but lets be honest here. Pictures do get better than this….

The recipe for sauce and for potatoes.


And, for those of you that think potatoes are the bad starchy-vegetable thingy you should never eat. Think again.

Thinking all this exercise better pay off,

AuntieM

Leave a Reply

Categories

